Copying photos during trips

#1 Apr 15th, 2017, 12:35
Join Date:
Aug 2013
Location:
Kolkata
Posts:
88
  • prodhar is offline
#1
During some travels, we are not carrying laptop. Then how to back up photos from camera.

Long back read some article in IM, but now unable to locate it. Based on memory, recalling the methods explained there, seared internet a lot and came out with this solution. Initially looks complicated. But finally found simple, though itís a slow process.

The mobile we carry has an OS which recognizes various file systems. Utilizing the same for copying.

The photo explains the circuit!



A few fine points:
a) For HDD you need Y-type USB cable to connect a power bank. Mobile may not have enough power for it.
b) HDD to be formatted with FAT32, not NTFS
c) Better to use powered type USB hub

Thanks to all
#2 Apr 15th, 2017, 15:32
Join Date:
Jan 2010
Location:
KERALA
Posts:
2,524
  • JOHNLORD is offline
#2
Quote:
Originally Posted by prodhar View Post During some travels, we are not carrying laptop. Then how to back up photos from camera.

Long back read some article in IM, but now unable to locate it. Based on memory, recalling the methods explained there, seared internet a lot and came out with this solution. Initially looks complicated. But finally found simple, though it’s a slow process.

The mobile we carry has an OS which recognizes various file systems. Utilizing the same for copying.

The photo explains the circuit!



A few fine points:
a) For HDD you need Y-type USB cable to connect a power bank. Mobile may not have enough power for it.
b) HDD to be formatted with FAT32, not NTFS
c) Better to use powered type USB hub

Thanks to all

Not sure whether this is a joke, if it is, I don't get it.

Why not just buy an adapter (cost Rs50) for your phone which lets you connect your usb pen derive or external nard drive. Way less complicated.
Lord, Grant me the Serenity to accept the things I cannot change, the courage to change the things I can, and the wisdom to hide the bodies of those people I had to kill because they pissed me off.
#3 Apr 15th, 2017, 15:46
Join Date:
Oct 2004
Location:
Chennai, India
Posts:
70,619
  • Nick-H is offline
#3
Quote:
Originally Posted by JOHNLORD View Post ... ... ... Why not just buy an adapter (cost Rs50) for your phone which lets you connect your usb pen derive or external nard drive. Way less complicated.
Because most phones will not output enough power to run an hdd. A card reader or USB stick, yes. An HDD, probably not.

Audiophiles do this stuff to run external DAC/Amps from their phones. Even if the device runs (I have one which does) the phone battery will not last long.

The details in the above, I can't make out. prodhar says it is a powered hub, but there is no mains adapter. If the hub is powered, no power bank is needed. Is the power bank powring the hub? Where is the Y adapter?
~
Life gets aadhar every day.
.
#4 Apr 15th, 2017, 18:36
Join Date:
Jan 2010
Location:
London (UK) (Current) & Pali Hill, Bombay (IN)
Posts:
8,904
  • ViShVa is offline
#4
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nick-H View Post Because most phones will not output enough power to run an hdd. A card reader or USB stick, yes. An HDD, probably not.

Audiophiles do this stuff to run external DAC/Amps from their phones. Even if the device runs (I have one which does) the phone battery will not last long.

The details in the above, I can't make out. prodhar says it is a powered hub, but there is no mains adapter. If the hub is powered, no power bank is needed. Is the power bank powring the hub? Where is the Y adapter?
In the above set-up, the power bank is acting as the mains power source, and hence is powering the hub. Without a power source, nothing would work.

The power supply won't last too long, depending on its capacity, but perhaps just long enough to transfer some photo sessions to the HDD or the SD card from the phone's storage.
#5 Apr 15th, 2017, 23:23
Join Date:
Oct 2004
Location:
Chennai, India
Posts:
70,619
  • Nick-H is offline
#5
Ahh, on a second look, got it now

Quote:
the power bank is acting as the mains power source, and hence is powering the hub. Without a power source, nothing would work.
Look closer! No it isn't. At first I thought that the power bank was plugged into one of the USB-out ports on the hub. Now i see that it isn't: that is where the y cable is. The hub, if it is powered, is powered by goddness-knows-what. I suspect that it isn't: it is taking its power from the phone. As far as I know, one can't power a hub from the USB-out (client) ports. It would be powered either by the USB-in (Host) connector, or by a separate mains adapter. In and out are the wrong terms, but sort-of work in this limited context.

Think of the Y cable with the single arm going to the hdd. The two arms are going to the hub and the power bank.

The flow is...
data: hub <---> hdd
power: bank ---> hdd
Despite appearances, the hub is not on the single arm of the Y: the power bank is.
#6 Apr 16th, 2017, 07:24
Join Date:
Jan 2010
Location:
London (UK) (Current) & Pali Hill, Bombay (IN)
Posts:
8,904
  • ViShVa is offline
#6
Spot on, Nick. My bad! The hub is not powered at all. The power bank is powering the HDD only. So the set-up will drain the phone battery desperately quickly. Not good. Not good.
#7 Apr 16th, 2017, 15:25
Join Date:
Oct 2004
Location:
Chennai, India
Posts:
70,619
  • Nick-H is offline
#7
Quote:
Originally Posted by ViShVa View Post So the set-up will drain the phone battery desperately quickly. Not good. Not good.
Not so desperately quickly, I think. The only demanding device there is the hdd, and that is not being powered by the phone.

But none of this is going to work, not even the phone by itself, without access to mains power at least once in 24 to 36 hours. We have to assume a night in a room with sockets! If the trip is tent-based, this setup might get us through an overnighter at least.

One of the best developments in phone technology (since smart phones, whose charge lasts a day, took over from dumb phnes that ran for a week) is that many of us have phones that will fully charge in a couple of hours. The rest of the night is for charging the fat and heavy power bank

.
Last edited by Nick-H; Apr 16th, 2017 at 23:31.. Reason: 'bank not being powered by phone.' Duh.
#8 Apr 16th, 2017, 16:46
Join Date:
Apr 2009
Location:
Almora
Posts:
6,792
  • jituyadav is offline
#8
Looking at the image, I am so glad I don't take any photographs.
If you find my posts confrontationist, please bear, I am an old frustrated guy who has nothing better to do than sit on rocking chair and curse the world whole day
#9 Apr 16th, 2017, 18:59
Join Date:
Oct 2004
Location:
Chennai, India
Posts:
70,619
  • Nick-H is offline
#9
It's ok... You don't have to photograph all the equipment

(but you can if you want)
#10 Apr 17th, 2017, 08:47
Join Date:
Jan 2009
Location:
Perth, Western Australia
Posts:
847
  • Keith H is offline
#10
It looks way too complicated. I take my camera to a computer cafe or similar and get them to copy to disc for a handful of rupees.
Job done.
#11 Apr 17th, 2017, 11:58
Join Date:
Oct 2004
Location:
Chennai, India
Posts:
70,619
  • Nick-H is offline
#11
It is a little head-twisting to understand in the first place, then it would be easy to do.
#12 Apr 17th, 2017, 12:43
Join Date:
Aug 2004
Location:
cloud
Posts:
1,469
  • RPG is offline
#12
The Chinese make OTG card readers with 2-4 card slots. Just copy the camera SD card to a series of backup SD cards. No power issues, no USB hub required, no cables. And no "Protable HDD", but of course SD storage is more expensive.


Or you can get a OTG USB hub with built-in card reader: if so, put a backup card in the reader or connect a flash drive to the hub, and connect the camera to the hub with USB cable. That way, there is no need to repeatedly remove the SD card from the phone. Again, no HDD (with its power needs) required.
Last edited by RPG; Apr 18th, 2017 at 02:09..
#13 Apr 18th, 2017, 02:15
Join Date:
Aug 2004
Location:
cloud
Posts:
1,469
  • RPG is offline
#13
Quote:
Originally Posted by prodhar View Post b) HDD to be formatted with FAT32, not NTFS
FAT32 has a 4GB file size limit, easily reached if you are taking high-res video! exFAT is a better choice, allows bigger file sizes and platform-independent (including Mac). SD cards as well as hard disks should be formatted exFAT.
Last edited by RPG; Apr 18th, 2017 at 03:28..
#14 Apr 22nd, 2017, 10:49
Join Date:
Aug 2013
Location:
Kolkata
Posts:
88
  • prodhar is offline
#14
Sorry, out for sometimes.
All of you are bang on the issues.

Here are my thoughts based on which I made the circuit.

a) Wanted to keep the back up of photos in HDD, not on another set of cards.
b) Correct, power bank is supplying power to HDD only. While copying hub draws power from Mobile. And it drains!
c) Used a power hub for supplying power as a provision, but tried without power to see whether it will work in remote places.
d) Correct, the HDD was formatted in ExFAT. I tried an old 320GB HDD. Now will try with 1TB
e) The HUB came into the circuit, since two devices (Card of Camera and HDD) need to be connected to the mobile and to be accessed by its OS. I tried with Android. iOS and Windows not tried.

Initially it looked too complicated but afterwards looked simple.

And by the way, it works.
#15 Apr 22nd, 2017, 10:54
Join Date:
Aug 2013
Location:
Kolkata
Posts:
88
  • prodhar is offline
#15
Quote:
Originally Posted by RPG View Post The Chinese make OTG card readers with 2-4 card slots. Just copy the camera SD card to a series of backup SD cards. No power issues, no USB hub required, no cables. And no "Protable HDD", but of course SD storage is more expensive.


Or you can get a OTG USB hub with built-in card reader: if so, put a backup card in the reader or connect a flash drive to the hub, and connect the camera to the hub with USB cable. That way, there is no need to repeatedly remove the SD card from the phone. Again, no HDD (with its power needs) required.
"That way, there is no need to repeatedly remove the SD card from the phone."

I will try this. Should work.

Similar Threads

Title, Username, & Date Last Post Replies Views Forum
memory on digital cameras and copying to CDR Aug 5th, 2004 18:00 0 1719 Electronics in India


Posting Rules

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
Forum Rules»
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.3.2
© IndiaMike.com 2018
Page Load Success