New Trains In The Budget 2008-2009 Announced

#1 Feb 26th, 2008, 16:02
Join Date:
Sep 2006
  • bissa is offline
1. Jaipur-Chandigarh (Tri-weekly) via Rewari-Bhiwani
2. Secunderabad-Visakhapatnam Express (Tri-weekly)
3. Varanasi-Delhi (Tri-weekly)
4. Bangalore-Kochuveli(Tri-Weekly)
5. Ranchi-Delhi (Bi-weekly)
6. Jammu Tawi-Kathgodam (Weekly) (in lieu of Nizamuddin-Dehradun Garib Rath Express announced in the Railway Budget 2007-08)
7. Yesvantpur-Puducherry (Tri-weekly)
8. Jabalpur-Mumbai (Bi-weekly)
9. Delhi-Jaynagar (Bi-Weekly) via Patna
10. Pune-Nagpur (Tri-weekly)
1. Amravati-Mumbai Express (Bi-weekly)
2. Chennai-Tiruchendur Express (Weekly)
3. Hyderabad-Usmanabad Express (Tri-weekly)
4. Bhubaneshwar-Mumbai Express (Bi-weekly) via Sambalpur
5. Amritsar-Saharsa Jan Sadharan Express (Weekly) via Hasanpur
6. Ranchi-Chopan Express(Tri-weekly)
7. Asansol-Mumbai Express via Jasidih (Weekly) with restoration of Howrah-Mumbai Mail via Gaya on all 7 days of the week
8. Kamakhya-Gandhidham Express (Weekly)
9. Kochuveli-Dehradun Express (weekly)
10. Jaynagar-Saharsa Janaki Express (Tri-weekly) via Hasanpur
11. New Dibrugarh Town-Kamakhya Express (Tri-weekly) via Moranhat
12. Machallipatnam-Bangalore Express (Tri-weekly)
13. Surat-Muzaffarpur Express (Weekly) via Azamgarh-Chhapra
14. Amritsar-Kochuveli Express (Weekly)
15. Delhi-Pathankot Express (Tri-weekly) via Amritsar
16. Malda Town-Patna Express (Tri-weekly) via Bhagalpur
17. Indore-Udaipur Express (Tri-weekly) via Ratlam
18. Varanasi-Rameshwaram Express (Weekly)
19. Delhi-Jogbani Link Express (Weekly)
20. Khajuraho-Delhi Link Express (Tri-weekly)
21. Kamakhya-Gaya Express (Weekly)
22. Ramnagar-Delhi Link Express (Daily)
23. Kolkata-Murshidabad Hazar Duari Express (Weekly)
24. Mathura-Chhapra Express (Tri-weekly)
25. Gwalior-Indore Express (Tri-weekly)
26. Udaipur-Delhi Chetak Express (Tri-weekly) via Ajmer-Neem-ka-Thana
27. Puri-Darbhanga Express (Weekly)
28. Yeswantpur-Jodhpur Express (Weekly)
29. Radhikapur-Delhi Express (Weekly)
30. Vasco-da-gama-Patna Express (Weekly) via Konkan railway
31. Paradeep-Bhubaneshwar Express (Daily) in lieu of one pair passenger service between Paradeep and Cuttack.
32. Bilaspur-Pune Express (Weekly)
33. Kendurjharagarh-Puri Express (Daily)
34. Gaya-Chennai Express(Weekly)
35. Balharshah-Mumbai Link Express (Daily)
36. New Dibrugarh Town-Yesvantpur Express (Weekly) via Moranhat
37. Ranchi-Bhagalpur Express (Tri-weekly) via Kiul in lieu of 3405/3406 Ranchi-Bhagalpur Varanchal Express (Bi-weekly via Kiul)
38. Lucknow-Delhi Air Conditioned Express (Tri-weekly)
39. Dehradun-Delhi Air Conditioned Express (Six days)
40. Ahmedabad-Mumbai Air Conditioned Express (Weekly)
41. Chennai-Rameshwaram Express (Daily) via Mayiladuthurai-Karaikudi (after Gauge conversion)
42. Chennai-Tiruchchirappalli Express (Daily) via Mayiladuthurai (after Gauge conversion)
43. Chennai-Salem Express (Daily) via Vriddhachalam (after Gauge conversion)
44. Madurai-Tenkasi Passenger (Daily) (after Gauge conversion)
45. Villupuram-Mayiladuthurai Passenger (Daily) (after Gauge conversion)
46. Mysore-Nanjanagud Town Passenger (Daily) (after Gauge conversion)
47. Ahmedabad-Patan Passenger (Daily) (after Gauge conversion)
48. Dabhoi-Pratapnagar Passenger(Daily) (after Gauge conversion)
49. Hajipur-Phulwaria passenger (Daily) (upon commissioning of new line)
50. Itarsi-Katni Passenger (Daily)
51. Shoranur-Nilambur Road Passenger (Daily)
52. Tirunelveli-Tiruchendur Passenger (Daily)
53. Vasai Road-Panvel MEMU (Daily)
1. 8611/8612 Varanasi-Ranchi to Sambalpur via Rourkela (Bi weekly)
2. 2677/2678 Bangalore-Coimbatore Express to Ernakulam
3. 4207/4208 Delhi-Raebareli Padmavat Express to Pratapgarh
4. 7405/7406 Tirupati-Nizamabad Krishna Express to Adilabad
5. 3225/3226 Danapur-Darbhanga Express to Jaynagar
6. 2855/2856 Nagpur-Raipur Express to Bilaspur
7. 2691/2692 Chennai-Bangalore Express to Sri Sathyasai Prashanti Nilayam
8. 6733/6734 Madurai-Manmad Express to Rameswaram on one side and Okha on the other
9. 2141/2142 Rajendranagar (T)-Lokmanya Tilak (T) Express to Chhatrapati Shivaji Terminus
10. 2409/2410 Nizamuddin-Bilaspur Gondwana Express to Raigarh
11. 4201/4202 Mathura-Lucknow Express to Patna
12. 2083/2084 Coimbatore-Kumbakonam Jan Shatabdi Express to Mayiladuthurai (after Gauge conversion)
13. 1423/1424 Solapur-Bagalkot Express to Gadag (after Gauge conversion)
14. 571/572 Bangalore-Salem Passenger to Nagore (after Gauge conversion)
15. 724/725 Tuticorin-Tirunvelveli Passenger to Tiruchendur
16. 356/357 Dharwar-Gadag Passenger to Bijapur
1. 2425/2426 New Delhi-Jammu Tawi Rajdhani Express from weekly to daily
2. 2203/2204 Amritsar-Saharsa Garib Rath from bi-weekly to tri-weekly
3. 2449/2450 Nizamuddin-Madgaon Goa Sampark Kranti Express from weekly to bi-weekly
4. 6513/6514 Bagalkot-Yesvantpur Basava Express from tri-weekly to daily
5. 3403/3404 Bhagalpur-Ranchi Express via Andal from five days to daily
6. 2891/2892 Baripada-Bhubaneswar Express from tri-weekly to six days a week
7. 2151/2152 Lokmanya Tilak (T)- Howrah Samrasta Express from weekly to bi-weekly
8. 2421/2422 Bhubaneswar-New Delhi Rajdhani Express from bi-weekly to tri-weekly
9. 2947/2948 Ahmedabad-Patna Azimabad Express from weekly to bi-weekly
10. 2431/2432 Nizamuddin-Thiruvanthapuram Rajdhani Express from bi-weekly to tri-weekly
11. 5109/5110 Varanasi-Rajgir Buddh Purnima Express from tri-weekly to daily
There will be a reduction of one rupee in the second-class fares of up to rupees fifty for non-suburban mail/express and ordinary passenger trains. The second-class fares of all mail/express and ordinary trains will be reduced by 5% for the tickets costing more than fifty rupees per passenger to benefit long distance passengers.

The Railway Minister also announced a reduction in the fares for newly designed Sleeper Class coaches by 2%.

Fare reduction by 2% for the newly designed AC 3 tier and AC Chair Car coaches has also been announced. This reduction will be only half for popular trains and during the peak period.

To make the fares for higher classes more competitive, the Railway Minister announced reduction of fares for AC-I class by 7% and AC-2 tier by 4%. This reduction would only be half for popular trains and during the peak period. With this reduction, the process of rationalization of AC class fares has now been completed.
#2 Feb 26th, 2008, 16:06
Join Date:
Sep 2001
  • steven_ber is offline
We're going to have a single thread with the full railway budget, then people will add comments to that thread.

This will avoid having many threads on the same subject.

I'm sure the full budget speach will be available very soon, so not long to wait.

Similar Threads

Title, Username, & Date Last Post Replies Views Forum
Rail Budget 2008 : Webcast Feb 26th, 2008 18:41 21 4858 Indian Railways
railway budget 2008 comments Feb 26th, 2008 15:06 1 35 Indian Railways
Air India and Indian airlines Merger Announced Jan 16th, 2007 01:35 0 1263 Domestic India Flights
Women's Cricket World Cup 2009 - Venue? Jan 10th, 2006 16:14 8 3326 Sports in India

Posting Rules

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
Forum Rules»
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.3.2
© 2018
Page Load Success