Do not give money in advance of stay at the Hotel Le Golden Amristar - India Travel Forum | IndiaMike.com

Do not give money in advance of stay at the Hotel Le Golden Amristar

#1 Apr 8th, 2010, 22:15
Join Date:
Sep 2009
Location:
Canada
Posts:
66
  • travelhound is offline
#1
Has anyone had a similar experience to me while trying to claim a refund from a hotel in India? I am cautious about using on line services to transfer money but I have found that it is much safer that transfering money into someone's bank account - you at least have a chance to recouver your money.

I have recently booked a hotel - the Hotel Le Golden - in Amritsar but due to a change in routing I have had to cancel a month or so before my arrival date. I am now having a great degree of difficulty getting my money refunded.

I have paid in advance as this hotel insisted they receive 50% payment for a two night stay. Originally they wanted 100% but I talked them down.

They promised that I could get a full refund - I quote " a security deposit is a must for the confirmation of any reservation and hence we have proposed for USD 100.00.If at all you have any apprehension about it , we are sending you the PayPal link for USD 50.00 only.The balance can be cleared when you check out on 19th May. Anyway we stand committed to our word that if the booking is cancelled and the same intimated to us on or before 15th May, we will refund back the amount by Western Union. Awaiting your confirmation, Thanks and regards. for Hotel Le Golden Ashutosh 0091-9915226800 "

I have written to them three times requesting a refund but still no reply and certainly no refund. It is early April and plenty of time before their mid May deadline for a refund.

I feel fortunate to have escaped staying at this hotel as the manner in which they conduct business suggests that it would have been a miserable experience. I strongly advise all visitors to avoid this Hotel as they appear to less than honest.

Does anyone have any advice or similar stories?
#2 Apr 8th, 2010, 23:16
Join Date:
Jan 2008
Location:
bangalore
Posts:
1,315
  • n kumar is offline
#2
This is same in almost all amritsar hotels. when i wanted to book hotel in amritsar all the guys asked me to deposit advance money in their accounts to conform the booking but i only got the quote with good discount of 46 % from hotel lawerance and i paid them when i checked out.
#3 Apr 9th, 2010, 17:16
Join Date:
Sep 2009
Location:
Canada
Posts:
66
  • travelhound is offline
#3

response Hotel Le Golden

Here is the response by The Hotel Le Golden. Although I was pleased that they finally responded - in no small part because I am posting - I am also annoyed that they dismiss my actions as too quick.

I do not want to dwell on the specifics of this matter and feel that there might be something here that affects other travelers.
In fact I believe the unfortunate aspect of this situation is that it will likely continue as the next customer will likely receive the same treatment unlil this Hotel takes responsibility for its actions and inactions.

Here is there response word for word.

"I am in receipt of your mail and am really shocked to hear the language you have used in your mail.To be honest I was out of city for the last four days and was not having access to internet. I deeply regret the delay in responding to your mail but that does not necessarily invite your outburst, Afterall we are in the hospital industry and are committed to our words.As the reservation is cancelled, we will definitely be pleased to send back your amount.We talked to the people in Western Union regarding this but they refused the transactions as the amount involved is less than USD 100.00.
Hence we have two clear options left.
1- Send us your contact here in India and we will immediately pay them in cash or through bank cheque.
2- We are ready to send you bank cheque of HDFC Bank of equivalent amount through courier given your complete postal address.

Please choose and write accordingly.
I will rather advise you not to loose cool so soon.You sent us the mail for cancellation on 4th and I am responding to it within hundered hours, so eventually the sky has not fallen and the amount is not in billions.If not this time we will definitely see some day.Hence having good control over language and expression is undoubtedly good for health.
Thanks and regards.for HOTEL LE GOLDEN Ashutosh Chief Manager-Reservations"

The truth is that none of this is my fault. I am glad that accept their responsibility to refund my money but I really wish they would not expect to accept their criticism.

Is there anyone who has had bad experiences with this Hotel or similar experiences with other bookings in India?
TH
#4 Apr 9th, 2010, 17:27
Join Date:
Dec 2008
Location:
New Delhi
Posts:
313
  • Saulteaux_woman is offline
#4
What was the bad language on your part?
#5 Apr 9th, 2010, 17:34
Join Date:
Sep 2009
Location:
Canada
Posts:
66
  • travelhound is offline
#5

Read this before previous post - my letters requesting refund

Here are my three requests for a refund - I present these so that it will be possible to juge the response from Hotel Le Golden in my previous response. I am sorry to have done this in the reverse order.

Request #1

"Subject: Re: Booking Cancellation

Dear Sir,
We regret that we must cancel our booking as our trip to Amritsar is now cancelled. We would now appreciate our deposit of $50 US refunded immediately.
You have previously stated "we stand committed to our word that if the booking is cancelled and the same intimated to us on or before 15th May, we will refund back the amount by Western Union."

How do we proceed?

-----------------------------------------------------------

Here is my second response. There was no response to the first Email after nearly two days. This was odd as they were typically very quick to reply, especially when they wanted something from me.

Hi,
This is my second request for reimbursement from my room cancellation. You have not replied to my first request which I made over 24 hours ago. I will assume that you are not compliant if you do not respond within the next 24 hours and will then proceed to take action through PayPal and through on-line forums to make known the situation at hotelLeGolden to other unsuspecting travelers. You have been warned.

-----------------------------------------------------------
This is my third request. I made this after no response after nearly four days.

Hi,
This is my third and final request for a refund for my deposit. You have not yet responded despite my previous requests. Please comply or I will be forced to take action to regain my money.

---------------------------------------------------------
This is all I wrote and I tried to be clear and direct without being insulting. The Hotel made written assurances and I simply wanted them to take resposibility for our agreement. Instead I received the 'silent treatment' for more than four days then their response.
TH
#6 Apr 10th, 2010, 16:38
Join Date:
Feb 2009
Location:
New Delhi
Posts:
369
  • anupmathur is offline
#6
Travelhound, I suspect that it was your going on-line that made the man act. His intentions earlier are certainly suspect!
The way he has preached to an aggrieved potential guest is, again, something any good hotel would never do!

Being active on another travel forum, I too have made a note of this hotel and their less than desirable attitude.

Thanks for taking the trouble to bring this to light.
#7 Apr 10th, 2010, 18:58
Join Date:
Sep 2009
Location:
Canada
Posts:
66
  • travelhound is offline
#7

the latest 'round' of communication

I never expected this to go so far or so long but I cannot let go until I have at least some sense that I am not to blame for requesting a refund or that they are responsible for their actuions and inactions. They are quick to deflect but slow to reflect.

Here is the latest(everything is quoted word for word) with the Hotel Le Golden:

The Hotel wrote:
"We acknowledge the receipt of your mail and are sending cheqe no.911578 (HDFC Bank,Amritsar,INDIA) for Rs.2200.00 equivalent to USD 50.00 at the current exchange rates.We hope that you will receive it within a couple of days.


If you will not take it otherwise, you are a man in a hurry it seems.Before posting anysuch adverse remarks, you should have waited a bit.However my conscience and committments are clear and have full faith in GOD, hence no remarks can affect us in anyway.


Thanks & regards.for Hotel Le Golden Ashutosh


-----------------------------------------------------------------


Then I replied:

"Dear Ashutosh,
Thank you for your prompt reply.
Is there a reason why do did not use PayPal to refund my money? This is the method that you suggested that I use so I'm surprised that you now choose a much more inefficient way to refund money.

Have you certified the cheque? It will be difficult for me to cash the cheque at my local bank if it is not certified. I also might be subject to a delay while the bank determines if there are funds to cover the cheque if it is not certified by a bank recognized in Canada.

The fact that you are sending suggests that you have not yet sent the money. Please let me know when the money has been sent and how it has been sent. You suggest that I will receive it within a couple days and this would suggest you are sending it by priority international courier. Do you have a tracking number?

You should also realize that I am not simply posting "adverse remarks". I am sure that you are a nice person but even nice people do bad things in the name of higher powers. I am merely shedding a light on your actions and your inactions.
______________________________ __________


Thank you for your support on this post.


TH
#8 Apr 10th, 2010, 19:06
Join Date:
May 2005
Location:
u.k.
Posts:
5,013
  • kullukid is offline
#8
Good test for your "inner calm" TH, a little taste of India before you've even set off!!! KK
#9 Apr 10th, 2010, 20:59
Join Date:
Feb 2009
Location:
New Delhi
Posts:
369
  • anupmathur is offline
#9
Quote:
Originally Posted by travelhound View Post .....
If you will not take it otherwise, you are a man in a hurry it seems.Before posting anysuch adverse remarks, you should have waited a bit.However my conscience and committments are clear and have full faith in GOD, hence no remarks can affect us in anyway.

Thanks & regards.for Hotel Le Golden Ashutosh
What a pathetic and lame excuse!
Invoke the name of God when all else fails!

And if, indeed, 'remarks' cannot affect them why such umbrage at your having posted the episode?!
#10 Apr 10th, 2010, 21:58
Join Date:
Sep 2009
Location:
Canada
Posts:
66
  • travelhound is offline
#10

reply kullukid

Quote:
Originally Posted by kullukid View Post Good test for your "inner calm" TH, a little taste of India before you've even set off!!! KK
Thank you Kullukid for the reminder that all things have value if one is willing to change perspective ever so slightly.
TH
#11 Apr 10th, 2010, 22:16
Join Date:
Sep 2009
Location:
Canada
Posts:
66
  • travelhound is offline
#11

reply anupmathur

Quote:
Originally Posted by anupmathur View Post What a pathetic and lame excuse!
Invoke the name of God when all else fails!

And if, indeed, 'remarks' cannot affect them why such umbrage at your having posted the episode?!
Thankyou for your reply. I don't want to get any individual into trouble as I do not feel that this is just. I understand how easy it is to say something regretable when challenged. I hope that something positive comes out of this thread - not just to educate the traveling public but also to educated the tourist industry in Amritsar. Both parties rely upon the other but it feels to me that the travelling public are a little at the mercy of unfair or unclear policy as well as staff not properly trained in handling minor matters such as this. Everyone should understand that it takes so little to destroy trust and yet so much to restore it.
TH
#12 Apr 11th, 2010, 02:58
Join Date:
Sep 2009
Location:
Canada
Posts:
66
  • travelhound is offline
#12

Latest response from Hotel Le Golden, Amritsar

Here is the word for word latest response from the Hotel:
"PayPal transacts with USDs only whereas we are not authorised to export USDs.Western Union refuses the transaction as the amount involved is less than $100.The cost of the courier is almost 75% of the cheque value.Hence after trying all available options we sent it by INDIAPOST today.
Just realise what we got from interacting with you.After killing my precious time over e-mail , we received $50 and returning the exact amount with the expenditure of postage being borne by us.
What a profitable business we did?
Thanks.
for Hotel Le Golden Ashutosh"

----------------------------
TH
#13 Apr 11th, 2010, 07:44
Join Date:
Feb 2007
Location:
India
Posts:
2,389
  • pmvelu is offline
#13
Horrible Attitude, at the least.

Definitely this hotel should be avoided. Thanks for updating us TH !
#14 Apr 11th, 2010, 09:04
Join Date:
Nov 2009
Location:
Bangalore
Posts:
887
  • jusmail is offline
#14
ROFL!
[QUOTE=travelhound;946289]Here is the response by The Hotel Le
but that does not necessarily invite your outburst, Afterall we are in the hospital industry and are committed to our words.As

That is why all this anxiety
Big Grin
Next time the hospitality industry please
Big Grin
#15 Apr 11th, 2010, 09:08
Join Date:
May 2005
Location:
Western NC USA
Posts:
3,805
  • camelgirl is offline
#15

Not a new problem

I'm sorry you didn't ask here on IM first before you sent a deposit. This question comes up quite often and without exception, I always tell the same thing.

Never, ever send money to India for a deposit via any way but a credit card. You will possibly never get it back if you have to cancel.

The odds are that they will NOT take a credit card (easier to cancel). Therefore, you must write many emails back & forth explaining why you cannot send a deposit. They rightly worry that you will not show up. But YOU must know that once you send it there, it is very, very difficult for them to actually return it to you. Not because they are dishonest, but because it is simply very difficult for small businesses that don't deal in credit cards to send money back out of the country.

So, most hotels that don't take credit cards, eventually will let you make a reservation without a deposit. Otherwise, book one night at a place that will take a credit card (usually a more expensive hotel), just to have a place to stay when you arrive. From then on, just book as you go.

We have never needed a deposit, we would never send one anyway. We assure the hotel that if we have to cancel we will let them know right away, so they don't have to hold a room. We want to be fair also.

So, now you learned the hard way. Don't send a cash deposit unless you are prepared to lose it.
Reply

Similar Threads

Title, Username, & Date Last Post Replies Views Forum
Children-don't buy or give money Oct 26th, 2010 12:46 6 2566 Scams and Annoyances in India
Give me the money. Jan 23rd, 2010 20:35 3 1261 Money Issues and India Travel
Just give me the money! Oct 4th, 2009 04:41 17 3031 Money Issues and India Travel
Do not leave animals with shacks or shops! Do not give money! Jan 13th, 2009 03:49 24 3824 Pets and Pet Care in India
Money exchane-VISA cash advance Dec 25th, 2001 16:17 0 2245 Goa


Posting Rules

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
Forum Rules»
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.3.2
© IndiaMike.com 2018
Page Load Success