Kasol internet connectivity and speed?

#1 Feb 21st, 2015, 22:22
Join Date:
Sep 2014
Location:
out of the world
Posts:
197
  • sojourn_seeker is offline
#1
Hello IMers,

My web research results say that Kasol has 3-4 cyber cafes.

Does anyone know how is the connectivity and speed?

I am planning to stay there for few days and work online for few hours a day hence the question.

Please help.

Regards
#2 Feb 23rd, 2015, 22:31
Join Date:
Apr 2014
Location:
Mumbai
Posts:
7
  • yogeshunavane is offline
#2
I was in Kasol in 2014, yes it has around 3-4 cyber cafes. People were doing Video calls with not much lag. I didn't face any connectivity issues.
#3 Feb 23rd, 2015, 23:36
Join Date:
Sep 2014
Location:
out of the world
Posts:
197
  • sojourn_seeker is offline
#3
Thank you Yogesh for the recent information.

will be helpful.

One more question: Does Kasol have 3G?..Did you use 3G/2G there?

Thanks

Regards
Last edited by sojourn_seeker; Feb 24th, 2015 at 05:01..
#4 Feb 24th, 2015, 21:34
Join Date:
Apr 2014
Location:
Mumbai
Posts:
7
  • yogeshunavane is offline
#4
I didn't tested Mobile Internet at that period of time. But I think it should work.
#5 Feb 24th, 2015, 21:41
Join Date:
Sep 2014
Location:
out of the world
Posts:
197
  • sojourn_seeker is offline
#5
Quote:
Originally Posted by yogeshunavane View Post I didn't tested Mobile Internet at that period of time. But I think it should work.
Thanks a lot for reply.

then in the previous post, you meant that you accessed net at cafe and din't face any problems with connectivity. please confirm.

Yes, it makes sense if there are no frequent power cuts, no connectivity problem, right?..how is the power cut situation, any idea?

Thanks
Regards
#6 Feb 26th, 2015, 00:06
Join Date:
Apr 2014
Location:
Mumbai
Posts:
7
  • yogeshunavane is offline
#6
In my 12-days trek for Sarpass I was in/around Kasol, Manikaran, Bhuntar. Kasol is place for Israeli's and other foreigner's and thats why Cyber's are available here.

I have seen people are using generators. I was able to make Voice call even on 14,000ft

Hope that helps.
#7 Feb 26th, 2015, 21:13
Join Date:
Sep 2014
Location:
out of the world
Posts:
197
  • sojourn_seeker is offline
#7
Thank you very much for the information Yogesh.

Regards
#8 Feb 26th, 2015, 23:18
Join Date:
May 2008
Location:
Bangalore, but always thinking of Himalayas...
Posts:
795
  • Manzey is offline
#8
Quote:
Originally Posted by yogeshunavane View Post In my 12-days trek for Sarpass I was in/around Kasol, Manikaran, Bhuntar. Kasol is place for Israeli's and other foreigner's and thats why Cyber's are available here.

I have seen people are using generators. I was able to make Voice call even on 14,000ft

Hope that helps.
Hi Yogesh,

When you say you did a voice call at 14,000 feet did you mean, you used a mobile and which connection did you use ? Can you please tell the name of the place from where you made the voice call at 14k feet ?

Cheers!
#9 Feb 26th, 2015, 23:44
Join Date:
Apr 2014
Location:
Mumbai
Posts:
7
  • yogeshunavane is offline
#9
Sounds crazy but Yes we did. We could make calls from Sarpass which is max @14,000ft.

Check man in right who is in a call:
https://yogeshunavane.wordpress.com/...dsc_0692/#main

Its simple, if it is direct link between you and tower, that you should get a signal till a certain range. Obvious, we didn't got range when we were is dense forest.
#10 Mar 22nd, 2015, 12:43
Join Date:
Jan 2003
Location:
थानेधार / नारकंडा / शिमला Thanedhar / Narkanda / Shimla
Posts:
756
  • vasuki is offline
#10
Yes, Kasol has 3G internet connectivity. Airtel and Idea has 3G signal in Kasol
Three goodies for Indian roads-
Good horn, Good brake, Good luck!
#11 Mar 22nd, 2015, 20:01
Join Date:
Sep 2014
Location:
out of the world
Posts:
197
  • sojourn_seeker is offline
#11
Quote:
Originally Posted by vasuki View Post Yes, Kasol has 3G internet connectivity. Airtel and Idea has 3G signal in Kasol

Thank you very much for sharing the information. By any chance, do you know if BSNL 3G works in Kasol as I am planning to use BSNL 3G now as there are no roaming charges.

Regards
#12 Mar 22nd, 2015, 20:39
Join Date:
May 2008
Location:
Bangalore, but always thinking of Himalayas...
Posts:
795
  • Manzey is offline
#12

Thanks!

Quote:
Originally Posted by vasuki View Post Yes, Kasol has 3G internet connectivity. Airtel and Idea has 3G signal in Kasol
That's good to hear. Then I can use my mobile as hotspot and use Airtel 3g and work from Kasol for few days.

Any idea if Airtel 3g also works from Manali and Dharmkot ?

Cheers!
Manzey
#13 Mar 23rd, 2015, 00:43
Join Date:
Jan 2003
Location:
थानेधार / नारकंडा / शिमला Thanedhar / Narkanda / Shimla
Posts:
756
  • vasuki is offline
#13
Quote:
Originally Posted by sojourn_seeker View Post Thank you very much for sharing the information. By any chance, do you know if BSNL 3G works in Kasol as I am planning to use BSNL 3G now as there are no roaming charges.

Regards
No idea about BSNL as I use Airtel & Idea. BSNL data service is quite erratic in HP though voice network is good.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Manzey View Post That's good to hear. Then I can use my mobile as hotspot and use Airtel 3g and work from Kasol for few days.

Any idea if Airtel 3g also works from Manali and Dharmkot ?
Airtel 3G is available in Manali & Mcleodganj.
#14 Mar 23rd, 2015, 01:19
Join Date:
Jun 2014
Location:
chandigarh
Posts:
10
  • avishg1 is offline
#14
there are lot of cyber cafes in kasol. you can go to sassy's if you want free wifi and the food quality served at sassy's is also good and at reasonable prices.
#15 Mar 23rd, 2015, 10:36
Join Date:
May 2008
Location:
Bangalore, but always thinking of Himalayas...
Posts:
795
  • Manzey is offline
#15
Quote:
Originally Posted by avishg1 View Post there are lot of cyber cafes in kasol. you can go to sassy's if you want free wifi and the food quality served at sassy's is also good and at reasonable prices.
Last time I was in Kasol was in 2012 and during that time used Reliance dongle which was very slow. Aware of cyber cafe in Kasol, but that is not feasible if one has to work on laptop for more than 10-12 hrs a day.

Quote:
Originally Posted by vasuki View Post Airtel 3G is available in Manali & Mcleodganj.
Thanks....Hopefully, I get a cheap accommodation for a month or so...

Cheers!

Similar Threads

Title, Username, & Date Last Post Replies Views Forum
High Speed Internet Nov 22nd, 2015 18:21 5 2284 Moving to Pune
Truly High Speed Internet Aug 3rd, 2015 03:06 4 1522 Goa
internet access speed in dehradun May 13th, 2011 21:59 3 2550 Electronics in India
high speed internet Jan 29th, 2010 22:36 3 1479 Mumbai (Bombay)
Internet speed in Goa Dec 15th, 2007 09:16 1 2900 Goa


Posting Rules

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
Forum Rules»
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.3.2
© IndiaMike.com 2018
Page Load Success