Keeping my Airtel prepaid SIM card 'alive' while abroad

#16 Apr 8th, 2018, 15:29
Join Date:
May 2007
Location:
UK etc.
Posts:
3,266
  • a_f_d is offline
#16
Quote:
Originally Posted by TigerLilly View Post You can recharge with Amazon. I'm going to try that this time. I only used Amazon for my recharges in India this time and it works like a dream. No extra fee.
https://www.amazon.in/hfc/mobileRecharge
... it seems to imply that you need to be an in-credit subscriber to Amazon-Pay -- for which you need a working mobile! :-

Quote:
Amazon Pay
Please verify your mobile number by providing OTP to create Amazon pay balance “Money” account before adding money.
.....

Aadhaar No.
__________________

Don't have Aadhaar? Provide other Id......
Couldn't get any further on "other Id" because Amazon know my phone no. and that it is 'seeded' to Aadhaar!!!

AndyD 8-)
There is no such thing as art, the best is high craft - the rest is just flim-flam ©
#17 Apr 8th, 2018, 15:58
Join Date:
Apr 2014
Location:
Anywhere
Posts:
71
  • zif is offline
#17
As I understand Airtel -- and perhaps someone can confirm this -- once your phone is registered on the network while roaming overseas you are charged a 99rp/month "rental" of some sort, whether or not you actually make or receive calls or SMSs. And I believe the rental charge, once it starts, continues until the phone registers on Airtel in India again, continuing even during months when the phone is not roaming. Again, hopefully someone can confirm this, or not.
#18 Apr 8th, 2018, 18:43
Join Date:
Jan 2010
Location:
North Rhine-Westphalia
Posts:
7,033
  • Golghar is offline
#18
I have used this site for topping up my Indian vodafone SIM card. It accepts my German credit card.
#19 Apr 8th, 2018, 22:44
Join Date:
Aug 2004
Location:
cloud
Posts:
1,438
  • RPG is offline
#19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Golghar View Post I have used this site for topping up my Indian vodafone SIM card. It accepts my German credit card.
Completely different things. That site allows only certain round-number topups, and adds a tidy profit. However, Indian mobiles work based on "magic numbers".

The Amazon page allows you to specify the exact amount
, so that you can buy e.g. a specific data+calls+SMS plan, or a full-value topup (such as Rs. 333). Also, Amazon charges only the correct amount converted to foreign currency.
.
Last edited by RPG; Apr 9th, 2018 at 04:44..
#20 Apr 9th, 2018, 03:39
Join Date:
Aug 2004
Location:
cloud
Posts:
1,438
  • RPG is offline
#20
Quote:
Originally Posted by a_f_d View Post ... it seems to imply that you need to be an in-credit subscriber to Amazon-Pay -- for which you need a working mobile!
I didn't encounter Amazon Pay during the purchase, and there was no OTP or aadhar number request.

It worked just like any other amazon.in purchase I have ever made. I logged in using my amazon.com username and password. The cost was charged to the US credit card amazon.com has on file.

If you are in the UK, the details of your amazon.co.uk account, if any, should work the same way on amazon.in. If you do not have any Amazon account, it is probably easiest to open an UK account and then use it on amazon.in.
Last edited by RPG; Apr 9th, 2018 at 04:42..
#21 Apr 9th, 2018, 04:41
Join Date:
Aug 2004
Location:
cloud
Posts:
1,438
  • RPG is offline
#21
Quote:
Originally Posted by zif View Post As I understand Airtel -- and perhaps someone can confirm this -- once your phone is registered on the network while roaming overseas you are charged a 99rp/month "rental" of some sort, whether or not you actually make or receive calls or SMSs. And I believe the rental charge, once it starts, continues until the phone registers on Airtel in India again, continuing even during months when the phone is not roaming. Again, hopefully someone can confirm this, or not.
That was my experience ~3 years ago---my balance ran down, and Airtel responded to my query saying that the rental would be charged as soon as the SIM connected to a foreign cell tower, whether or not there was any usage.

I wrote back protesting that their clearly stated rules say the rental is only charged if there is an incoming/outgoing call or outgoing SMS. I had to go up the complaint ladder, and after I wrote to a 'nodal officer', the charges were reversed.

Since then I have been careful not to power up with the Airtel SIM abroad. Maybe they have fixed the problem, but maybe they have not; I can't take the risk. I also have a Vodafone SIM, and I know that their charges do not start simply for powering it up in range of a foreign tower.
#22 Apr 9th, 2018, 07:31
Join Date:
Apr 2014
Location:
Anywhere
Posts:
71
  • zif is offline
#22
If they have "fixed" it I think they have fixed it only to make it clear the charge commences once you connect to a foreign tower. I don't have the rules at hand now, but I read them a few weeks ago and so, like you, made sure to take out the Airtel SIM as soon as I left India.
#23 Apr 9th, 2018, 10:30
Join Date:
Oct 2004
Location:
Chennai, India
Posts:
70,242
  • Nick-H is offline
#23

Keeping my Airtel prepaid SIM card 'alive' while abroad

There are answers to some of the Amazon recharge questions here: https://www.amazon.in/gp/help/custom...deId=202159280

Under payment methods it seems to assume you are in India but cards etc are included. However, for other purchases, I think I have used foreign card. But my original Amazon account was UK.
~
Life gets aadhar every day.
.
#24 Apr 9th, 2018, 15:07
Join Date:
May 2007
Location:
UK etc.
Posts:
3,266
  • a_f_d is offline
#24
Quote:
Originally Posted by RPG View Post I didn't encounter Amazon Pay during the purchase, and there was no OTP or aadhar number request.

It worked just like any other amazon.in purchase I have ever made. I logged in using my amazon.com username and password. The cost was charged to the US credit card amazon.com has on file.

If you are in the UK, the details of your amazon.co.uk account, if any, should work the same way on amazon.in. If you do not have any Amazon account, it is probably easiest to open an UK account and then use it on amazon.in.
yes, mea culpa, I didn't try an actual topup - I just clicked on Pay and was taken to the Amazon Pay page.
When I entered an actual phone number and chose a Plan it just went through a normal Amazon transaction (which for me defaults to Net Banking; I didn't try a foreign card - sorry! )
I guess I was being inveigled into opening an Amazon Pay account, for which Aadhaar and a working phone (for OTP) was required.

AndyD 8-)
#25 Apr 9th, 2018, 15:30
Join Date:
Oct 2004
Location:
Chennai, India
Posts:
70,242
  • Nick-H is offline
#25

Keeping my Airtel prepaid SIM card 'alive' while abroad

They keep telling me that I need to tell them my aadhar number for Amazon Pay... But I neither know nor care about Amazon Pay. Except that they once have me some money that way, and might again.
#26 Apr 9th, 2018, 17:43
Join Date:
May 2007
Location:
UK etc.
Posts:
3,266
  • a_f_d is offline
#26
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nick-H View Post They keep telling me that I need to tell them my aadhar number for Amazon Pay... But I neither know nor care about Amazon Pay. Except that they once have me some money that way, and might again.
.... well having done a ₹120/- topup as a test case (#24 above) I now have ₹50/- cashback in AmazonPay: afaik I don't have an AmazonPay account and don't plan on getting one!

AndyD 8-)
#27 Apr 9th, 2018, 22:39
Join Date:
Aug 2004
Location:
cloud
Posts:
1,438
  • RPG is offline
#27
Yes, cashback amounts are being deposited in Amazon Pay. Amazon Pay is part of any amazon.in account, and so exists by default if you log in with any other country's Amazon account. You don't have to open an Amazon Pay account specifically.

It should be possible to pay in part for future topups using that balance.

The problem is that any account that holds money, not just a bank account but also PayTM and Ola Money and such, now needs to be validated with an Aadhar card to prevent money laundering. I doubt that they are very interested in accounts with Rs 50 in them; I thought there was some minimum balance before validation was necessary. But maybe not...at worst they'll freeze the account and we will suffer the terrible loss of Rs 50.

PS I created a PayTM account recently while in India, mostly to make exact-amount mobile refills possible from abroad. Now apparently it is no longer needed because of Amazon.
#28 Jun 16th, 2018, 16:21
Join Date:
Aug 2010
Location:
United Kingdom
Posts:
925
  • ukdoctor is offline
#28
Quote:
Originally Posted by TigerLilly View Post You can recharge with Amazon. I'm going to try that this time. I only used Amazon for my recharges in India this time and it works like a dream. No extra fee.
https://www.amazon.in/hfc/mobileRecharge
Thanks for posting this. I didn't use my UK card in the end and decided to use my Indian netbanking .

Not sure if my airtel sim still works . It was last used in November 2017 . I cannot connect to a airtel roaming partner in my current location as my sim is prepaid ( PAYG in the UK)

However my friend has a postpaid ( monthly ) contract with airtel india and this works in my location .

He travels every 3/4 months so probably worth it . However in my case with travel once a year or sometimes once in 1.5 years it is not worth it at all.

I might be going to London next month ( hopefully we might be able to have a IM meet as Nick is also around ) and will have to test it out.
#29 Jul 5th, 2018, 03:56
Join Date:
Mar 2014
Location:
On the road
Posts:
227
  • iamgorman is offline
#29
I attempted to recharge my active Airtel SIM and a JIO SIM, but both recharges were rejected and the amounts refunded. I used the same credit card which I've used successfully for other amazon.in purchases. Either they've changed the policies since April, or there is perhaps some other hiccup.
#30 Jul 5th, 2018, 04:45
Join Date:
Aug 2010
Location:
United Kingdom
Posts:
925
  • ukdoctor is offline
#30
Quote:
Originally Posted by iamgorman View Post I attempted to recharge my active Airtel SIM and a JIO SIM, but both recharges were rejected and the amounts refunded. I used the same credit card which I've used successfully for other amazon.in purchases. Either they've changed the policies since April, or there is perhaps some other hiccup.
When i tried to recharge yesterday there was a message thaf airtel recharges were not working and to try later.

Similar Threads

Title, Username, & Date Last Post Replies Views Forum
how to reactivate inactive airtel sim card Dec 19th, 2016 03:04 12 105477 Electronics in India
Can I buy an Airtel SIM card at the Delhi airport? And what is the data situation? Nov 3rd, 2010 07:56 4 12315 Electronics in India
Prepaid SIM Card at IGI Airport Sep 19th, 2009 08:47 18 15112 Electronics in India
Lifetime Airtel prepaid sim Jul 21st, 2008 03:47 9 21695 Electronics in India
Need a prepaid SIM card with data/voice Mar 15th, 2008 17:00 2 10194 Electronics in India


Posting Rules

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
Forum Rules»
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.3.2
© IndiaMike.com 2018
Page Load Success