internet

#1 Jun 26th, 2012, 03:35
Join Date:
Aug 2010
Location:
St. Louis mo
Posts:
14
  • taffners is offline
#1
My husband and I will be going to India for the month of November. We will be staying with my husband's family, who live in Bangalore. I would like to have internet while we are there. Is there any way to have internet at home for just a month? Also we will only have a tablet computer with us.

In the US we have a mobile hotspot from sprint http://reviews.sprint.com/5611v2/248...ws/reviews.htm
which we are able to bring it with us. It works any where in the US. Something like this would be ideal. Our travel will be as follows: Mumbai - Pune - Bangalore - madurai - Theni - Bodi - Munnar - Madurai - Bangalore - Mumbai.

While in the past it was nice to relax and not have internet all the time. This time I would like to have internet.

Thank you for any advice.
#2 Jun 26th, 2012, 21:39
Join Date:
Feb 2012
Location:
Bhubaneswar, Odisha, India
Posts:
1,626
  • paramiyer is offline
#2
Quote:
Originally Posted by taffners View Post My husband and I will be going to India for the month of November. We will be staying with my husband's family, who live in Bangalore. I would like to have internet while we are there. Is there any way to have internet at home for just a month? Also we will only have a tablet computer with us.

In the US we have a mobile hotspot from sprint http://reviews.sprint.com/5611v2/248...ws/reviews.htm
which we are able to bring it with us. It works any where in the US. Something like this would be ideal. Our travel will be as follows: Mumbai - Pune - Bangalore - madurai - Theni - Bodi - Munnar - Madurai - Bangalore - Mumbai.

While in the past it was nice to relax and not have internet all the time. This time I would like to have internet.

Thank you for any advice.
besides theni-bodi-munnar, you should have any of the mobile providers give at least 2G coverage, so buying a usb dongle (to put in your tablet) & sim card with gprs enabled should suffice. do check to confirm that national roaming is included (& preferably free). for the metros, you should be able to get 3G service at a premium rate.
if you can have someone apply for a bsnl 2g sim card for you in advance, that might be a decent option. you get 2GB for 1 month for 99 rs as a special recharge.
#3 Jun 26th, 2012, 23:07
Join Date:
Aug 2010
Location:
St. Louis mo
Posts:
14
  • taffners is offline
#3

Thank you

Are the companies fairly similar?

Are you able to use internet on the train with these usb dongles? I just ask this question more because I'm interested in using google to translate for me. My in laws speak Tamil and a little Hindi. While I only know English and can understand a little Hindi.

Sorry for this question but I'm unsure what the difference is between a Sim, usb dongle, and bsnl. Will they all work on a tablet computer which has a usb drive?

Thank you for the help. Have a good day.
#4 Jun 27th, 2012, 10:24
Join Date:
Feb 2012
Location:
Bhubaneswar, Odisha, India
Posts:
1,626
  • paramiyer is offline
#4
Quote:
Originally Posted by taffners View Post Are the companies fairly similar?

Are you able to use internet on the train with these usb dongles? I just ask this question more because I'm interested in using google to translate for me. My in laws speak Tamil and a little Hindi. While I only know English and can understand a little Hindi.

Sorry for this question but I'm unsure what the difference is between a Sim, usb dongle, and bsnl. Will they all work on a tablet computer which has a usb drive?

Thank you for the help. Have a good day.
airtel, vodafone, reliance are few that are quite common names in india & have coverage across 'most of' india.
please note that reliance internet option is a CDMA based one, while others mostly offer GSM based option.

i have used reliance netconnect, airtel gprs, bsnl gprs while in train. you will notice drops intermittently once you are in areas that look far away from civilization, but for non-mission critical work, is it quite a decent option.
google translate is a fully online application, so connection drops will cause intermittent issues. i would suggest using a pocket diary/dictionary for something as simple as what you need.
btw, if your in-laws speak tamil, there is a high chance they would at least understand english if you speak slow enough.

SIM is the small card from telecom provider that goes into your gsm phone. i recall sprint in usa is mostly cdma, where the sim is sort of locked on the phone (similar to some reliance & tata options in india). but a GSM phone/sim allows you to swap the phone or connection across easily. usb dongle is a usb data card (very similar to the pen drives for storing data) - all have a slot for adding the GSM SIM card, some have facility to add memory card to double up as pen drive. here is an example of what you need. in case of cdma based dongle (reliance netconnect or tata photon), the SIM is built-in.
bsnl is the govt telecom company. it provides landlines as well as mobile options across india.

hope i have managed to confuse you enough...
#5 Jun 27th, 2012, 18:40
Join Date:
Dec 2007
Location:
Bangalore
Posts:
146
  • anton is offline
#5
Quote:
Originally Posted by taffners View Post My husband and I will be going to India for the month of November. We will be staying with my husband's family, who live in Bangalore. I would like to have internet while we are there. Is there any way to have internet at home for just a month? Also we will only have a tablet computer with us.

In the US we have a mobile hotspot from sprint http://reviews.sprint.com/5611v2/248...ws/reviews.htm
which we are able to bring it with us. It works any where in the US. Something like this would be ideal. Our travel will be as follows: Mumbai - Pune - Bangalore - madurai - Theni - Bodi - Munnar - Madurai - Bangalore - Mumbai.

While in the past it was nice to relax and not have internet all the time. This time I would like to have internet.

Thank you for any advice.
Nice MiFi! And good for LTE, when you get it in the future.

Unfortunately, it won't work in India. However, if you have a worldphone from Sprint, or an unlocked GSM phone from any other provider, you could use it as a hotspot if it has the feature.

Tata Docomo has a rebranded Verizon hotspot that costs about 5k INR which works like your mifi.

But the cheapest option is if you use your existing smartphone as a hotspot. Do order your GSM simcard in advance in your in laws name. Easier than using your own name.
#6 Jun 27th, 2012, 19:21
Join Date:
Aug 2010
Location:
St. Louis mo
Posts:
14
  • taffners is offline
#6
Thank you all very much.
#7 Feb 9th, 2013, 11:15
Join Date:
Oct 2010
Location:
Punjab - India
Posts:
741
  • Dek is offline
#7
I will be in Bangalore next week. I want to take my laptop with me, but I don't have any dongle for using internet.

If I recharge with Rs. 149 for a month on my phone?

Hotel Ramada is wifi enabled?

what other options I have?
#8 Feb 15th, 2013, 03:08
Join Date:
Aug 2010
Location:
St. Louis mo
Posts:
14
  • taffners is offline
#8
The dongles work the best.

But I had a android tablet. The tablet has a USB but there isn't a driver for the airtel dongle we had. Therefore we didn't have Internet. They seem to work well on a laptops. We just used a neighbor's computer and went to an internet center. Cafe coffee day near in R.T. Nagar has advertised for 2 years now free wireless internet but I've asked and they keep on saying its not connected yet. Therefore I would not rely on a tablet or a cafe.
#9 Feb 18th, 2013, 14:39
Join Date:
Jan 2007
Location:
MUMBAI
Posts:
2,782
  • Indizen is offline
#9
Make sure your hotel room is wi fi enabled.
Then you can use your device to access the Internet.
#10 Mar 10th, 2013, 20:55
Join Date:
Oct 2010
Location:
Punjab - India
Posts:
741
  • Dek is offline
#10
I have Airtel prepaid connection registered in Punjab. I want to use 3g services but the same is/are not available in Punjab, so my question is as I move to Haryana, can I use 3g services on my phone, like video calling, internet etc.? or I need to have airtel connection from Haryana?
#11 Mar 10th, 2013, 21:05
Join Date:
Oct 2010
Location:
Punjab - India
Posts:
741
  • Dek is offline
#11
I am sorry, I have posted in Bangalore Forum.
#12 Mar 10th, 2013, 21:06
Join Date:
Aug 2006
Location:
Homeless
Posts:
20,651
  • nycank is offline
#12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dek View Post or I need to have airtel connection from Haryana?
It is advisable. The moment I was away from the NCR circle, airtel counted it as roaming. Choose carefully where you select an apartment to live; it will determine what kind of services are available.

Similar Threads

Title, Username, & Date Last Post Replies Views Forum
How to get Wi fi Internet? Jan 21st, 2012 16:52 6 2652 Mumbai (Bombay)
Internet Apr 3rd, 2011 03:23 0 2107 Andaman & Nicobar Islands
Internet Sep 20th, 2010 11:52 5 1357 Kolkata (Calcutta)
Internet Connection Apr 20th, 2006 12:18 5 3282 Electronics in India


Posting Rules

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
Forum Rules»
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.3.2
© IndiaMike.com 2018
Page Load Success