Will my Tata Photon work in Leh?

#1 Sep 1st, 2011, 14:55
Join Date:
Nov 2009
Location:
McleodGanj-Boudha KTM (Nepal)-central Florida
Posts:
202
  • lostinINDIA is offline
#1
Will my Tata Photon mobile internet stick work in Leh?
What abt other areas of Ladakh?
#2 Sep 1st, 2011, 16:07
Join Date:
Feb 2010
Location:
Kolkata
Posts:
2,973
  • kshil is offline
#2
Quote:
Originally Posted by lostinINDIA View Post Will my Tata Photon mobile internet stick work in Leh?
What abt other areas of Ladakh?
No it most likely won't work in Leh or actually anywhere in Ladakh.

Review the network availability here in J&K under the availability tab:

These cities of J&K are listed as of now (and no mention of Kargil and Ladakh)

Jammu, Katra, Srinagar, Udhampur, Bari Brahmna, Samba GurMandi, Kathua, Khakharial, Sunjwan, Nagrota, Rehmbal, Zakoora Sopore, Pulwama, Kupwara, Doda, Budgam, Baramulla, Bandipore, Anantnag, Akhnoor, Kishtwar

Now that's all about high speed internet, browse here to see even normal mobile connectivity doesn't exist in Ladakh region for Tata Indicom. So forget HSIA, the device won't be able to run even in CDMA (low speed) mode in Ladakh.
#3 Sep 1st, 2011, 20:55
Join Date:
Nov 2009
Location:
McleodGanj-Boudha KTM (Nepal)-central Florida
Posts:
202
  • lostinINDIA is offline
#3
oh dear that is a huge issue for me, I need access to my files several hrs a day...

do you know if there are wifi cafes? or cyber-points where I can bring my own laptop?
#4 Sep 2nd, 2011, 00:32
Join Date:
Feb 2010
Location:
Kolkata
Posts:
2,973
  • kshil is offline
#4
Quote:
Originally Posted by lostinINDIA View Post oh dear that is a huge issue for me, I need access to my files several hrs a day...

do you know if there are wifi cafes? or cyber-points where I can bring my own laptop?
Cyber cafes with internet connectivities do exist primarily in Leh and may some other very few pockets of Ladakh. But not sure if it would be possible to plugin your laptop there or not. Wifi is something I am not sure off but realistically don't see much of hope there.
#5 Sep 5th, 2011, 10:09
Join Date:
Nov 2009
Location:
Mysore
Posts:
20
  • tomcat1011 is offline
#5
nope.. no tata photon.. only Aircel 3g stick and BSNL's wireless broadband work in Leh.

However, most cyber cafes have wi-fi and a few (olden trek off fort road) will let you connect your laptop to their ethernet cables, no extra charge

But its a bomb - 90 rs per hour average or 1.5 Rs per minute..
#6 Sep 5th, 2011, 13:24
Join Date:
Feb 2010
Location:
Kolkata
Posts:
2,973
  • kshil is offline
#6
Quote:
Originally Posted by tomcat1011 View Post nope.. no tata photon.. only Aircel 3g stick and BSNL's wireless broadband work in Leh.
Is this BSNL EVDO card (CDMA Service) you are talking about? Do you have any experience carrying / using it out of Leh, ie. say Nubra etc.?
#7 Sep 5th, 2011, 18:29
Join Date:
Jun 2008
Location:
Poland
Posts:
153
  • meczko is offline
#7
Open Hand (no associations with the Congress intended ) in the Fort Road area has wi-fi. I don't remember the price but it was quite steep.

Here's their webpage and contact details http://www.openhand.in/leh-ladakh/. They close some time in September.
#8 Sep 5th, 2011, 23:16
Join Date:
Nov 2009
Location:
Mysore
Posts:
20
  • tomcat1011 is offline
#8
Quote:
Originally Posted by kshil View Post Is this BSNL EVDO card (CDMA Service) you are talking about? Do you have any experience carrying / using it out of Leh, ie. say Nubra etc.?
No not the CDMA service, the dongle came with a sim card that you could swap, so i dont really think it was that. Not too sure outside of Leh, but in Nubra and even Sumur the EDGE on my BSNL was working.. thats about it.
#9 Sep 6th, 2011, 00:18
Join Date:
Feb 2010
Location:
Kolkata
Posts:
2,973
  • kshil is offline
#9
Quote:
Originally Posted by tomcat1011 View Post No not the CDMA service, the dongle came with a sim card that you could swap, so i dont really think it was that. Not too sure outside of Leh, but in Nubra and even Sumur the EDGE on my BSNL was working.. thats about it.
So was it EDGE on mobile or you used some USB device with your laptop? I am actually trying to find out what exact service / product I need to get to have my laptop connected to internet there in Ladakh. I would take it from BSNL only. BSNL has so many number of services that's confusing and I am sure most of them are useless, so I need to select the right product.
#10 Sep 6th, 2011, 10:00
Join Date:
Nov 2009
Location:
Mysore
Posts:
20
  • tomcat1011 is offline
#10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kshil View Post So was it EDGE on mobile or you used some USB device with your laptop? I am actually trying to find out what exact service / product I need to get to have my laptop connected to internet there in Ladakh. I would take it from BSNL only. BSNL has so many number of services that's confusing and I am sure most of them are useless, so I need to select the right product.
Sorry I confused you. ME personally, i used the GPRS EDGE on my cell, works flawlessly, even outside Leh. Used it in Upshi, then in Karu and Hunder.

IN leh, i have seen friends who used Aircel 3G Stick (very slow, but still there) and a similar BSNL service. I'm not really sure which exact service, i'll let you know by evening if its going to help.

Also, even if you know which service, you will need to apply for it in Leh itself as they dont work on roaming...
#11 Sep 6th, 2011, 13:58
Join Date:
Jan 2008
Location:
Hyderabad
Posts:
50
  • rumasan is offline
#11

Angry

Quote:
Originally Posted by kshil View Post No it most likely won't work in Leh or actually anywhere in Ladakh.

Review the network availability here in J&K under the availability tab:

These cities of J&K are listed as of now (and no mention of Kargil and Ladakh)

Jammu, Katra, Srinagar, Udhampur, Bari Brahmna, Samba GurMandi, Kathua, Khakharial, Sunjwan, Nagrota, Rehmbal, Zakoora Sopore, Pulwama, Kupwara, Doda, Budgam, Baramulla, Bandipore, Anantnag, Akhnoor, Kishtwar

Now that's all about high speed internet, browse here to see even normal mobile connectivity doesn't exist in Ladakh region for Tata Indicom. So forget HSIA, the device won't be able to run even in CDMA (low speed) mode in Ladakh.
That is really interesting. I did not check this site till date, however, when I had called Tata Indicom a month back and asked them if they had the basic network coverage for voice services in Leh, they told me yes. The person also told me that the Photon will work in the normal dial-up model speed (not HSIA) in Leh. Now I feel really frustrated seeing this
#12 Sep 6th, 2011, 15:38
Join Date:
Feb 2010
Location:
Kolkata
Posts:
2,973
  • kshil is offline
#12
Quote:
Originally Posted by tomcat1011 View Post Sorry I confused you. ME personally, i used the GPRS EDGE on my cell, works flawlessly, even outside Leh. Used it in Upshi, then in Karu and Hunder.
Interesting, I do have a BSNL postpaid SIM, not too sure what all I have to do to get the GPRS to it. Everything is very complex once you try it in BSNL.

Quote:
Originally Posted by tomcat1011 View Post IN leh, i have seen friends who used Aircel 3G Stick (very slow, but still there) and a similar BSNL service. I'm not really sure which exact service, i'll let you know by evening if its going to help.
I am not going to try even 3G service in ladakh, that's simply doesn't make sense in Indian Context. I am more than happy if I find a 2G service available.

It would be great help if you can provide me the service name I should opt for.

Quote:
Originally Posted by tomcat1011 View Post Also, even if you know which service, you will need to apply for it in Leh itself as they dont work on roaming...
Why do you think so? If the service is postpaid BSNL datacard, it should work without any issue anywhere in India, prepaid might have problems though. Have you spoken to BSNL on this? I am saying as my colleague has roamed in Ladakh with BSNL datacard but somehow couldn't contact him now.

Quote:
Originally Posted by rumasan View Post That is really interesting. I did not check this site till date, however, when I had called Tata Indicom a month back and asked them if they had the basic network coverage for voice services in Leh, they told me yes. The person also told me that the Photon will work in the normal dial-up model speed (not HSIA) in Leh. Now I feel really frustrated seeing this
rumasan, yes that's a bad news, I also thought it should work but these customer service don't handle exception when they talk about Ladakh. By the way when are you starting? Sep or Oct?
#13 Sep 6th, 2011, 21:31
Join Date:
Nov 2009
Location:
Mysore
Posts:
20
  • tomcat1011 is offline
#13
Quote:
Originally Posted by kshil View Post Interesting, I do have a BSNL postpaid SIM, not too sure what all I have to do to get the GPRS to it. Everything is very complex once you try it in BSNL.
Well, its not really difficult. Postpaid, in karnataka circle just apply for a add-on pack of about 83 rs per month you get 3 GB of data usage free per month and its free even on roaming. Just set the APN as "bsnlnet". Maybe it wasn't complicated for me because my parents work for BSNL

Everything is different in Jammu and Kashmir from the rest of the country but the service providers dont really know about it. For example, my vodafone customer care assured me that it would work in leh as well but it doesn't.

I'm trying to get in touch with my friend there who has the BSNL data card, will tell you the exact name as soon as it comes through.

And I'm skeptical of the Data Cards from outside the state working there, because i remember him saying the J&K issued one will not work outside the state.
#14 Sep 6th, 2011, 23:33
Join Date:
May 2009
Location:
Delhi
Posts:
338
  • dheerajsharma14 is offline
#14
As far as I know, no prepaid connections outside J&K work there only the post paid ones. If you are using Postpaid BSNL GPRS service, I do not think there is any reason it will not work, if it works already. Last year we had Airtel but its GPRS was not working post Keylong.

Vodafone technical guys says that connectivity is not possible in that region because they don't have the latch required for roaming (not sure what it is). Having said that when we had 3 vodafone sims to the shocking surprise one of the Vodafone SIM was working at many places in Leh. We were totally confused with that but for us it was boon in those testing times.

Here is a guy who shared his experience with datacards though in Kashmir. I guess it may be applicable for Ladakh as well.
Last edited by dheerajsharma14; Sep 6th, 2011 at 23:36.. Reason: shared the link
#15 Sep 7th, 2011, 18:00
Join Date:
Nov 2008
Location:
srinagar
Posts:
1,514
  • sunnykashmir is offline
#15
Tata Photon does not work anywhere in Ladakh but there are many Cyber cafes in Leh, you can get your laptop connected in them and the charges are nominal, You can find many on the changspa area.

Regards

Sunny

Similar Threads

Title, Username, & Date Last Post Replies Views Forum
Does TATA Photon USB Internet work in Manali? Jun 6th, 2013 00:15 9 6010 Kullu and Manali
help needed with tata photon Usb modem in hand, what procedure to get prepaid plan ? Jan 5th, 2011 03:52 11 3505 Electronics in India
Tata Photon Whiz Mobile Internet Service (HEAVEN) Oct 26th, 2010 22:04 2 1561 Electronics in India
Tata Indicom Photon Datacard Nov 16th, 2009 17:15 3 1765 West Bengal


Posting Rules

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
Forum Rules»
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.3.2
© IndiaMike.com 2014
Page Load Success