Indian Railways: Online and SMS Complaint Redressal

#1 Dec 24th, 2011, 16:07
Learning... from others' experiences!
Join Date:
Sep 2011
Location:
India
Posts:
7,177
  • Prakaant is offline
#1
The Indian Railways have launched a new service, which provides a passenger an opportunity to lodge a complaint against any service provided by the department. A suggestion can also be given to improve the Railway service!

The complaint lodging service has been linked to the homepage of Indian Railway website.

On visit to the link on website (www.indianrailways.gov.in), you will find a box with "Complaints & Suggestions". On clicking Submit button, Complaints & Suggestions Registration Form opens. Supporting documents can also be sent as attachment.

I hope, this would be a great help to the passenger who suffers!
#2 Dec 24th, 2011, 18:34
Join Date:
Oct 2007
Location:
Kolkata
Posts:
2,532
  • asishdas is offline
#2
Great feedback! Thanks, Prakaant.

I only wish somebody regularly and religiously monitors the reported complaints/suggestions and take remedial actions so that the complainant get due justice and redressal. Knowing the track record of Indian Railways, I am a bit skeptical about the matter. Nevertheless, it is an welcome change.
#3 Dec 24th, 2011, 18:37
Learning... from others' experiences!
Join Date:
Sep 2011
Location:
India
Posts:
7,177
  • Prakaant is offline
#3
Quote:
Originally Posted by asishdas View Post I only wish somebody regularly and religiously monitors the reported complaints/suggestions and take remedial actions so that the complainant get due justice and redressal. Knowing the track record of Indian Railways, I am a bit skeptical about the matter. Nevertheless, it is an welcome change.
Let's hope for the best. At least some positive sign is there. It was long overdue!!
#4 Dec 24th, 2011, 18:53
Join Date:
Sep 2009
Location:
Blue Planet
Posts:
2,093
  • suricate is offline
#4
Going by the way how pretty much all such government facades work, I suspect it would be just another instance of a black hole! I'd be very happy to be proven wrong, however.
.
#5 Jan 2nd, 2012, 05:32
Join Date:
Nov 2011
Location:
Chennai, Tamilnadu, India
Posts:
8
  • Balusathiya is offline
#5

New system introduced by Railways

Dear Friends,

This may be useful.
Indian Railways have introduced a new system, so that you can complain from the running train. You furnish the train no, bogie no and the precise nature of complaint like fan not working, no water in the bathroom or substandard caterers food etc through SMS to NO 8121281212. It is an effective tool. There is one more number. 919717630982 for train complaints.

Regards,
Balusatya
#6 Jan 3rd, 2012, 11:00
Join Date:
Oct 2011
Location:
USA
Posts:
4
  • TheGR8IR is offline
#6
Quote:
Originally Posted by Balusathiya View Post Dear Friends,

This may be useful.
Indian Railways have introduced a new system, so that you can complain from the running train. You furnish the train no, bogie no and the precise nature of complaint like fan not working, no water in the bathroom or substandard caterers food etc through SMS to No. 8121281212. It is an effective tool. There is one more number. 919717630982 for train complaints.

Regards,
Balusatya
This may be ONLY for SCR and NOT all of IR.
#7 Jan 3rd, 2012, 13:48
Join Date:
Jan 2006
Location:
Ireland
Posts:
4,497
  • JuliaF is offline
#7
Two threads have been merged and the title amended.
#8 Jan 3rd, 2012, 16:41
Learning... from others' experiences!
Join Date:
Sep 2011
Location:
India
Posts:
7,177
  • Prakaant is offline
#8

There is a related update on the thread Will dense fog in Delhi ruin my travel? by Dave to check the arrival/departure of a train for Northern Railway! He has quoted:

"Delhi Division of Northern Railway has achieved another milestone today by introducing SMS services to the passengers for information regarding Arrival/Departure of trains. The passenger has to send the 5 digit train number through SMS to 9717631813 and the system will automatically generate the reply of the query."

Thank you Dave!
#9 Jan 3rd, 2012, 18:30
Join Date:
Aug 2010
Location:
Pune, Maharashtra, India
Posts:
1,515
  • saugata41 is offline
#9
this is really a handy piece of information - thanks prakaant, balusathiya and machadinha
Wanderlust - My Travel Journals
Leave your footprint as a tiny but precious comment
#10 Jul 5th, 2012, 23:36
Join Date:
Sep 2004
Location:
Hollywood/Bangalore/Kochi
Posts:
5,033
  • crvlvr is offline
#10

Railways' SMS Complaint Process

From an email note that I received today, passengers can SMS complaints (even from a running train!) to the Indian Railways which are addressed quickly.

I have not tried this personally. So, I am posting this for the benefit of other IM'ers. Will be great to hear about their personal experiences.

Indian Railways Complaints can be SMS'ed to 8121281212

Related email as received below.
~~~~~~


From M.V.Ramana Murthy ,

Incident 1

It happened few months back. We were traveling and me & family were waiting in the A/C waiting room at Secunderabad Station. The attached bathroom was not clean and was giving bad smell. Added to this discomfiture, the bathroom door was not closing tight, and I also observed that shutter was not closing tight because of faulty door closer. I complained to the attendant .

I also sent an SMS " The bathroom of A/C waiting room on platform No 1 of Secunderbad Station is dirty and stinking. Pl arrange cleaning . Also the door is not closing properly". After few minutes we left the waiting room as our train arrival was announced. Within few minutes I received text reply from Railways, giving an Id No and that action will be taken . After few hours I received a message that the bathroom has been cleaned . After ten days I received another message that the faulty door has been repaired and thanking me.

Incident 2

Recently on 24 th October I and my wife were traveling by Hyderabd Ajmeer Express on our Rajasthan trip. Next day morning, I noticed there was no water in the bathroom and the taps are all dry, whereas our journey will continue and we will be reaching our destination ( Bhilwara near Ajmeer) after another 18 hours. I was worried that it is going to be a miserable time to travel without water. Water or No water, people will continue to use the bathrooms and the stink will become unbearable. I complained to the Conductor. I also sent a SMS "Traveling in the A1 compartment of Hyderabad Ajmeer express train No 12720. No water in the bathrooms . Pl arrange. Also replace leaking valves else problem repeats." Pat came the reply" Your reference id is 1110250019. For status visit www.scr.indianrailways.in. or SMS as STATUS<SPACE> <id> TO 8121281212 . Thanks for registering complaint " .

After about 20 minutes I received message that water will be filled at the nearest Railway station having water filling facility. At Itarsi station, water was filled and we had no problem . After about a week I received another message that the faulty valves have been replaced . It was amazing.

I am thankful to the Railway authorities for introducing a system where one can complain from a running train even and doubly grateful that they have acknowledged the complaint and attended.

I collected this help line number from the Railway waiting room !

Many times while traveling by train we are put to unexpected inconvenience, we react by cursing and criticizing. No other response. Of course once we reach our destination we just forget.

There is no use in cursing the darkness around you, do light a candle however small it be, it gives an inspiration and ten more candles will be lit . The process continues reducing the darkness.

The Railway Number to which you can SMS is 8121281212 . Please pass on this message to your friends and it may help some one in need including you
#11 Jul 6th, 2012, 11:06
Join Date:
Oct 2007
Location:
Kolkata
Posts:
2,532
  • asishdas is offline
#11
Is the referred number is common for all the railway zones?
#12 Jul 6th, 2012, 12:54
Join Date:
Feb 2012
Location:
Bhubaneswar, Odisha, India
Posts:
1,595
  • paramiyer is offline
#12
you forgot to add:
...and then I woke up from the dream as the train reached the destination.

i noted this online complaint system; http://customercare.indianrailways.g...iscm/home.seam

i logged 2 complaints, received SMS & e-mails.
after about 2 weeks, i wanted to check if any progress has been made. interestingly, when i provide the complaint details, the error says 'complaint does not exist'!!!
#13 Jul 6th, 2012, 12:54
Join Date:
Jun 2012
Location:
Patna
Posts:
615
  • anilkv is offline
#13
For the same purpose I've used the number 09717630982. I've used this number twice & both times got positive result- one time regarding shortage of water in the coach & next time regarding cleaning of coach.
#14 Jul 6th, 2012, 14:45
Join Date:
Oct 2007
Location:
Kolkata
Posts:
2,532
  • asishdas is offline
#14
There seems to be some confusion here.

1. crvlvr in his Post (Post No.#1) discussed about lodging complaints throgh SMS and referred to Phone (obviously a Mobile Phone) No. 8121281212.
2. I wanted to know whether the above referred Phone No. is common for all railway zones (Post #2).
3. paramiyer in his Post (No. #3) seemingly referred to Online Complaints Booking System (Not Complaint Booking through SMS).
4. Lastly, anilkv in Post No. #4 provided another Mobile Phone No.09717630982 and has stated that he had lodged complaints twice and got the desired response in both the cases.

The point here is (1) whether a Complaint Lodging System through SMS has been put in place by Indian Railways, (2) if so, whether there is one or more common Mobile No. earmarked for this purpose irrespective of different Railway Zones or the numbers are Zone specific, and (3) finally, whether this system is effective or not.

For Point No.3, we can have debate and share various experiences, but before that we should know the system in totality. Can some one please explain this new system reported to have been introduced by the Indian Railways recenly? Thanks.
#15 Jul 6th, 2012, 19:32
Join Date:
Oct 2007
Location:
Kolkata
Posts:
2,532
  • asishdas is offline
#15
An update:

While searching IM forum to look for similar thread, I came across this thread: Indian Railways: Online and SMS Complaint Redressal
Post No.#5 of this thread contains exactly same info and same phone number. But in the very next Post, it says that this system is applicable only for SCR and not for all the Railwasys across India. The issue remained unresolved in the said thread.

More confusion! What our Railways experts say in this matter?

Similar Threads

Title, Username, & Date Last Post Replies Views Forum
how to buy onward ticket on the Indian Railways online Nov 4th, 2011 09:57 1 1748 Indian Railways
Indian railways online & credit card information Sep 21st, 2005 15:51 5 1323 Indian Railways
Indian Railways online booking Oct 20th, 2003 12:03 3 6550 Indian Railways


Posting Rules

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
Forum Rules»
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.3.2
© IndiaMike.com 2014
Page Load Success