Alleppey. Train station

#1 Aug 12th, 2008, 14:42
Join Date:
Jul 2008
Location:
Copenhagen
Posts:
367
  • My friend Goo is offline
#1
Is there a train station in Alleppey?

I'm taking the train from Chennai to Cochin, it's called The Alleppey express, so there must be a stop in Alleppey, wich is where i'm going.

So it's probably easier to stay on the train, rather than get a pick up
#2 Aug 12th, 2008, 14:50
Join Date:
Oct 2004
Location:
Chennai, India
Posts:
59,174
  • Nick-H is online now
#2
Yes, it has a station, and the train you are catching certainly goes there. "Alleppey Express" --- yes, that's the clue!

You should have a ticket to Alleppey, though.

I doubt that anyone is going to check after Cochin (the stations for Kochi, by the way, are Ernakalam Townor Junction) but if you want to be good, you could probably paythe excess fare to the TTE when he checks your ticket.

You can use the Indian Railways site to check out the schedule for the train by entering the train number. When I travel, I usually print one out to take with me: it is nice to know roughly where you are by the timing, and to know which stations are just before yours so you can get ready.
#3 Aug 12th, 2008, 14:57
Join Date:
Jul 2008
Location:
Copenhagen
Posts:
367
  • My friend Goo is offline
#3
Aah, thats cool. So Alleppey is after Cochin. I'll type in that instead then.

Thanks for your help
#4 Aug 12th, 2008, 16:31
Join Date:
Oct 2004
Location:
Chennai, India
Posts:
59,174
  • Nick-H is online now
#4
About two hours after.
#5 Aug 12th, 2008, 17:50
Join Date:
Sep 2005
Location:
perth-australia
Posts:
3,366
  • vandy is offline
#5
Good Day Nick,

I haven't used the train Chennai to Cochin, but I am surprised
the train doesn't pass through Allepey on it's way to Cochin.

OR does this train go through Kotayam,then Cochin,then Allepey.

Just interested to know.

rgds

vandy
#6 Aug 12th, 2008, 19:23
Join Date:
Oct 2004
Location:
Chennai, India
Posts:
59,174
  • Nick-H is online now
#6
Train 6041, Vandy.

The Trivandrum trains (or at least the ones I've been on) go down the Kotayam side. The Alleppey express goes across to Kochi before heading South. It does not go via Kotayam

Note for those new to Kerala trains: if you are going to Kochi (Cochin) you get off at Ernakulam. There is not a "Kochi" Station.

It's a little test you have to pass before accessing the area!

(Actually, there may be a Kochi Port, or something, but that would be only further confusing...)
#7 Aug 12th, 2008, 23:15
Join Date:
Jun 2004
Location:
Bavaria
Posts:
2,791
  • federica is offline
#7
And there is "Ernakulam Town" and "Ernakulam Junction". Most trains go to Ernakulam Junction.
#8 Aug 12th, 2008, 23:50
Join Date:
Oct 2004
Location:
Chennai, India
Posts:
59,174
  • Nick-H is online now
#8
...and many stop at both.

The Alleppey Express does.
#9 Aug 13th, 2008, 01:26
Join Date:
Apr 2008
Location:
Somewhere
Posts:
500
  • mazha is offline
#9
Quote:
Originally Posted by vandy View Post Good Day Nick,

I haven't used the train Chennai to Cochin, but I am surprised
the train doesn't pass through Allepey on it's way to Cochin.

OR does this train go through Kotayam,then Cochin,then Allepey.

Just interested to know.

rgds

vandy
Coming from the North, after Ernakulam Town, the track goes two ways. The hilly route goes to Kottayam, Tiruvalla, Mavelikara, Kayamkulam. The coastal route goes to Ernakulam Junction, crosses a long bridge and then on to Cherthala, Alleppey, Haripad and then Kayamkulam, where it meets the other track. The second is the shorter route to Tvm, most of the fats trains take that route.
#10 Aug 13th, 2008, 01:59
Join Date:
Oct 2004
Location:
Chennai, India
Posts:
59,174
  • Nick-H is online now
#10
Thanks! When I've been to Trivandrum, it has been via Kottayam. I'll watch out which train takes what route next time we do that.
#11 Aug 13th, 2008, 02:18
Join Date:
Apr 2008
Location:
Somewhere
Posts:
500
  • mazha is offline
#11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nick-H View Post Thanks! When I've been to Trivandrum, it has been via Kottayam. I'll watch out which train takes what route next time we do that.
The origin-destination boards on the compartments usually say which route, I guess no one looks at it! Your ticket would also mention it.

Coming from Chennai, you also have another route to Trivandrum, via Madurai and Nagercoil. The Guruvayoor express takes that route. It goes south down the Tamilnadu coast, turns at Nagercoil, and comes up to Trivandrum from the south.

You can also take the Egmore Kollam meter-gauge train and then go to Tvm/Ekm from there as well, that is more scenic than the Nagercoil route.
#12 Aug 13th, 2008, 03:26
Join Date:
Oct 2004
Location:
Chennai, India
Posts:
59,174
  • Nick-H is online now
#12
Master of Kerala-bound travel!

And your expertise is appreciated

I'm likely to be Alleppey-bound once or twice more this year, and maybe Trivandrum in January.

Somehow, I need to try and fit in a trip to Delhi* too. Plenty of time; not enough budget.



*Not by train. Sorry to the Indian train fans, I know its puny, but 18 hours including one night is my limit!
#13 Aug 13th, 2008, 07:54
Join Date:
Feb 2007
Location:
Chennai
Posts:
2,270
  • pmvelu is offline
#13
[
Quote:
Originally Posted by mazha View Post Coming from Chennai, you also have another route to Trivandrum, via Madurai and Nagercoil. The Guruvayoor express takes that route. It goes south down the Tamilnadu coast, turns at Nagercoil, and comes up to Trivandrum from the south.
That's a Nice update Mazha !
To add to what Mazha said,

"Ananthapuri Express" is the other train which goes to Trivandrum from chennai via Madurai , Nagerkoil. And compared to Chennai-Coimbatore-Ernakulam-Kollam route the "All Tamilnadu route" is very very normal in "Views" perspective Eventhough the "Travel Time" wise more or less same

Quote:
Originally Posted by mazha View Post You can also take the Egmore Kollam meter-gauge train and then go to Tvm/Ekm from there as well, that is more scenic than the Nagercoil route.

I understand that you are telling from your memories but this train was stopped atleast 10+ years back as far as I remember ! .

Just thought of putting this which might help future Visitors who are searching for this information !

Cheers
Velu
#14 Aug 13th, 2008, 10:24
Join Date:
Sep 2005
Location:
perth-australia
Posts:
3,366
  • vandy is offline
#14
Thanks Nick and others for your Replies.

Interesting Routes.


vandy
#15 Aug 13th, 2008, 10:53
Join Date:
Apr 2008
Location:
Somewhere
Posts:
500
  • mazha is offline
#15
Quote:
Originally Posted by pmvelu View Post [
I understand that you are telling from your memories but this train was stopped atleast 10+ years back as far as I remember ! .

Just thought of putting this which might help future Visitors who are searching for this information !

Cheers
Velu
Thanks for that clarification pmvelu, I guess I am out of touch! I think the train was running till Shencottai recently, I just assumed that it went to Egmore!

I liked travelling by meter gauge trains, different pace, different type of crowd. Not many of them around now.

Similar Threads

Title, Username, & Date Last Post Replies Views Forum
Missing the train at one station and getting on at the next station Jan 16th, 2010 05:26 13 8333 Indian Railways
How far between Jaipur bus station and train station? Nov 28th, 2007 09:19 8 3569 Jaipur
Train from Jaisalmer to Delhi - which train station? Oct 31st, 2005 10:17 2 12712 Indian Railways
Alleppey rail station Nov 4th, 2004 00:02 1 1143 Indian Railways


Posting Rules

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
Forum Rules»
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.3.2
© IndiaMike.com 2014
Page Load Success