India Travel Forum | IndiaMike.com

India Travel Forum | IndiaMike.com (http://www.indiamike.com/india/)
-   Himachal Pradesh (http://www.indiamike.com/india/himachal-pradesh-f29/)
-   -   Recent reviews where to stay in Shimla (http://www.indiamike.com/india/himachal-pradesh-f29/recent-reviews-where-to-stay-in-shimla-t262342/)

salima Apr 29th, 2017 22:21

Recent reviews where to stay in Shimla
 
i dont really see anything on the entire web let alone indiamike that gives me current rates and the reviews on indiamike are 2012 and earlier. does anyone have any recent experience staying at a budget place (if there is one) close to the mall?

or should i find somewhere else farther? i want to see the cemeteries and the loreto convent school and dont know exactly where they are in relation to each other. if there is a central location for them that would provide a budget stay that would be great.

i didnt want to take a taxi there from chandigarh because of the difference in cost between that and a bus, but the issue is that if i take a bus i will be in shimla without a driver. if i have to take a tour, especially a custom guided one because of my specific needs, i might end up paying even more than i would have for a taxi. i thought i might hire the taxi for two or three days, but then i would have to pay for the driver's hotel and food as well.

any ideas how i can do this without breaking the bank? it is a small bank...call it a piggy bank. i just robbed it for a really nice trolley suitcase.

nycank Apr 29th, 2017 22:28

Take a bus from Chandigarh to Shimla. About 100+ yards from the Bus station there is the elevator that takes one to the Mall Rd. level.

There are many hotels around that area that would fit most budgets. Try airbnb, or oyorooms. It is better to select off season if your quest is cemeteries.

aarosh Apr 29th, 2017 23:31

You could try YMCA in Shimla. See http://www.indiamike.com/india/himac...1/#post1902653. Read http://www.indiamike.com/india/himac...3/#post1868795 to know about how to reach there and what to expect.Loreto convent is around 2 kms from here.

Which cemetery are you looking to visit?

Dilliwala Apr 30th, 2017 02:22

Quote:

Originally Posted by nycank (Post 2035376)
Take a bus from Chandigarh to Shimla. About 100+ yards from the Bus station there is the elevator that takes one to the Mall Rd. level.

The ISBT was moved a few years ago already. It's now at Tutikandi, which is a few km down-road from the old one - in the wrong direction, that is (towards Solan/Kalka).

vaibhav_arora Apr 30th, 2017 11:54

A local bus will take you from isbt to near lakad bazaar area from there it's a steep staircase up to the ridge where the church and the YMCA stand. The YMCA folks should be able to guide you re:cemeteries as well.

Aarosh has already shared my report where I mentioned staying there.

salima Apr 30th, 2017 22:34

Quote:

Originally Posted by aarosh (Post 2035381)
You could try YMCA in Shimla. See http://www.indiamike.com/india/himac...1/#post1902653. Read http://www.indiamike.com/india/himac...3/#post1868795 to know about how to reach there and what to expect.Loreto convent is around 2 kms from here.

Which cemetery are you looking to visit?

well there arent that many, so maybe all of them. the main three which would have relatives of mine if at all any do, are portmore (or oakover some call it), sanjauli and kanlog. there is also a muslim cemetery which if it is near i would also visit, even though i assume there are no monuments or headstones.

since everything is in a shambles according to all the reports i have read, and there are no records to look at, i assume i would be in for using a divining rod and then trying to clear out some underbrush and get to some stone somewhere. i hoped to have some intuition show me where to start, since it sounds like a hopeless task. but i am up for it i think...

i had heard there was a ymca offering rooms, didnt know if it was actually there-thanks. that's an option.

salima Apr 30th, 2017 22:35

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dilliwala (Post 2035398)
The ISBT was moved a few years ago already. It's now at Tutikandi, which is a few km down-road from the old one - in the wrong direction, that is (towards Solan/Kalka).

i must have missed something somewhere...what is the ISBT? i should probably take a good look at a map of the mall road area.

aarosh Apr 30th, 2017 22:37

Inter State Bus Terminal.

salima Apr 30th, 2017 22:40

Quote:

Originally Posted by nycank (Post 2035376)
Take a bus from Chandigarh to Shimla. About 100+ yards from the Bus station there is the elevator that takes one to the Mall Rd. level.

There are many hotels around that area that would fit most budgets. Try airbnb, or oyorooms. It is better to select off season if your quest is cemeteries.

i think it is off season now, is it? but if not, i cant wait-i think it is now or never.

good tip about the elevator, i wouldnt want to waste all my energy on climbing up the hill. i didnt realize it could be avoided. so i dont need to book a room anyway, right? just see in person what is available.

hey, i am beginning to get the attitude now-no more planning, just go for it!
(i am already packing my new suitcase for chandigarh)

salima Apr 30th, 2017 22:48

Quote:

Originally Posted by vaibhav_arora (Post 2035429)
A local bus will take you from isbt to near lakad bazaar area from there it's a steep staircase up to the ridge where the church and the YMCA stand. The YMCA folks should be able to guide you re:cemeteries as well.

Aarosh has already shared my report where I mentioned staying there.

so then a bus will take me from where i get off the bus from chandigarh to where i will have to climb the stairs? how many flights are we talking?

i will have to make a notebook i see! lakad bazaar...it is on the mall road, right?

and by the way i read your travel report, i hadnt seen it before. great job! as a matter of fact, i was thinking if i some day want to permanently shift to hp i would want to be away from tourist stuff and foreigners, would any of those towns you mention fit that description? i dont need a hospital or anything, maybe not even a doctor, but need internet and place to buy food to cook, regular household supplies, fresh vegetables and fruit would be nice. but not a lot of people and no traffic. sort of like an amish village...

and living in a place without a water shortage would be nice too...although i gather that if the 'end' comes the paople who dont have any water will come and kill those who do to get it, so it hardly matters.

Dilliwala May 1st, 2017 02:10

All of Shimla cannot be on the Mall Road.

The ISBT is at Tutikandi, on the outskirts. Any long-distance bus from the plains will arrive there. Take a local bus from there to the Lift, which is on the south side of the main hill. Lakkar Bazar is on the north side and will require the long climb.

It's off-season now? :confused: [shock] :dontgetit The clock just ticked over to 1st May and the plains are already jolly hot. Nuff said.
I don't recommend going without a booking, it'll be no fun going from one hotel to another with luggage in tow. At least give the Y a call in advance.

unclelach May 1st, 2017 08:34

Ymca
 
I stayed at the YMCA in October 2014 and in October 2012. There are plenty of online reviews of the YMCA. These are fair as much as I can judge from two short stays. The main things I liked about the YMCA was its central location, period character and friendly/honest staff. Location: off eastern end of Ridge, uphill from rear of Christ Church.

There is or was a YWCA that had rooms but I don't see reviews that are clearly for it. Location: off western end of Ridge.

I reached Shimla by train, never by bus. The usual procedure was to take a taxi from the station to the lift/elevator. There remained a taxing climb from the lift upper level to the YMCA. Some people engage a porter for their bag. Note: there are no taxis or autos permitted in central Shimla. I would expect taxis to be available at the new ISBT and perhaps local buses.

I once went searching for historic cemeteries in Shimla but found only one located on a steep slope, amongst large trees, below the eastern part of the Mall. Most graves had been obliterated by nature.
I didn't reach Sanjauli where lies the most recent Christian cemetery. This tour service may be useful: http://shimlawalks.com/cemeteriesinshimla.html

salima May 1st, 2017 10:38

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dilliwala (Post 2035561)
All of Shimla cannot be on the Mall Road.

The ISBT is at Tutikandi, on the outskirts. Any long-distance bus from the plains will arrive there. Take a local bus from there to the Lift, which is on the south side of the main hill. Lakkar Bazar is on the north side and will require the long climb.

It's off-season now? :confused: [shock] :dontgetit The clock just ticked over to 1st May and the plains are already jolly hot. Nuff said.
I don't recommend going without a booking, it'll be no fun going from one hotel to another with luggage in tow. At least give the Y a call in advance.

yeah, i thought about the season later...it seems the only off season would be the winter, which i would love, but i dont want to wait that long. i have waited too long to do some of the things that i came here to do and am running out of time now. and of course the monsoon wouldnt be good due to the travel problems and potential dangers. i will only be there one or two nights at most anyway, i hope, so not much in the way of luggage.

now that i think about it, maybe the mall is of no interest to me anyway. if the cemeteries arent anywhere near it...

salima May 1st, 2017 10:57

Quote:

Originally Posted by unclelach (Post 2035587)
I stayed at the YMCA in October 2014 and in October 2012. There are plenty of online reviews of the YMCA. These are fair as much as I can judge from two short stays. The main things I liked about the YMCA was its central location, period character and friendly/honest staff. Location: off eastern end of Ridge, uphill from rear of Christ Church.

There is or was a YWCA that had rooms but I don't see reviews that are clearly for it. Location: off western end of Ridge.

I reached Shimla by train, never by bus. The usual procedure was to take a taxi from the station to the lift/elevator. There remained a taxing climb from the lift upper level to the YMCA. Some people engage a porter for their bag. Note: there are no taxis or autos permitted in central Shimla. I would expect taxis to be available at the new ISBT and perhaps local buses.

I once went searching for historic cemeteries in Shimla but found only one located on a steep slope, amongst large trees, below the eastern part of the Mall. Most graves had been obliterated by nature.
I didn't reach Sanjauli where lies the most recent Christian cemetery. This tour service may be useful: http://shimlawalks.com/cemeteriesinshimla.html

hi uncle!
so the y would be near taxis?

i was thinking the taxi drivers would know where the cemeteries were, but it will be better if i get an idea before i go. if i hope to find amelia horn, i would have to go to kanlog, which might be where you had gone, and sanjauli. she died in 1921.

can i just wander into cemeteries by myself and a taxi driver and go digging around?

i did email the shimlawalks people, but i think they are only into selling tours, not giving free advice for lone wolves. what was your impression of the cemetery you saw-do you think it would be possible to uncover a grave without too much hassle and read a stone? did you find any weirdos hanging around there? (hehehe, not my kind but the kind of weirdos that have anticsocial inclinations i mean!)

i also wanted to see the loreto convent where my mother went to boarding school, but if all the buildings are new and where she was is gone and they have no records, it wouldnt really be a high priority. she would have graduated in about 1942 i guess. i mean for the sake of atmosphere it would be nice, but if i had to cut out some things i would have to have a sense of what is most and least important to me.

unclelach May 1st, 2017 13:30

There is useful information about the several cemeteries online. A few google searches is enough. Just now I read that the Shimla municipal office has a death register. You might find general information in the State Museum which I found worth a visit.

A taxi should be able to take you to say Sanjauli cemetery which is easily found on Google Maps. The older cemeteries might need some preparation. There are bookshops in the Mall which sell visitor guide booklets. These could help. I doubt that any cemetery is gated. For security, it could be worth engaging a guide. I have found that taxi drivers prefer to stay with their car.


All times are GMT +6.5. The time now is 14:33.


© IndiaMike.com 2017


Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.3.2