Anybody knows how to change the address in residential permit?

#1 Jan 23rd, 2007, 17:19
Join Date:
Oct 2004
Location:
Germany
Posts:
26
  • sidoriva is offline
#1
Hi,
I have shifted my house. I need to change the address. How could i do it?
#2 Jan 23rd, 2007, 17:27
Join Date:
Oct 2004
Location:
Chennai, India
Posts:
68,275
  • Nick-H is offline
#2
Go to the people who issued the permit.

How else?
~
Life gets aadhar every day.
.
#3 Jan 24th, 2007, 10:10
Join Date:
Jan 2005
Location:
Delhi (expat from London)
Posts:
248
  • Indianworker is offline
#3

Frro

Go to the FRRO office that you got your Permit from and inform them of change of address with proof i.e. rental agreement etc
Indianworker
#4 May 14th, 2010, 11:11
Join Date:
May 2010
Location:
kolkata
Posts:
2
  • haeven_east is offline
#4

residential permit

Hi ,I am an expatriate and a new mwmber to this community,my dilemma is such...I am married to an indian national,after registering our marriage i went to my home country and got a pio card,further to which i registered in Goa and was issued a pesidential permit cum registration report,it clearly stated "change of address should be informed immediately".We stayed in Goa for about 2 and half years after marriage and have now shifted to Kolkata,in the whole shifting thing,I forgor to inform Goa FRRO about my change in address,in any case we did not have an address till about two weeks after my husband joined his new job .We now live in a company provided accomodation.

My questions are as under
1. How can I now inform the Goa FRRO about my change in address,is there a postal and/or proxy(authorization) way to do it??
2. Is it really necessato do it??
3.Can I apply for a new registration,here in Kolkata without the last registration being produced?
4.Can I apply for conversion of my PIO into OCI here in India so all this registration stuff is done with?/what are the formalities/fees???



Pls. reply anyone!!!


Pls.. reply
#5 May 14th, 2010, 19:40
Join Date:
Sep 2008
Location:
Utah
Posts:
2,011
  • curtdfw is offline
#5
1. How can I now inform the Goa FRRO about my change in address,is there a postal and/or proxy(authorization) way to do it??
You'll have to go personally. Be prepared to admit your error and foolishness, grovel, etc.
2. Is it really necessato do it??
Yes.
3.Can I apply for a new registration,here in Kolkata without the last registration being produced?
Don't try it. The entry and exit stamps on your passport will tell a different story, then you're screwed.


4.Can I apply for conversion of my PIO into OCI here in India so all this registration stuff is done with?/what are the formalities/fees???
You don't seem to be eligible for OCI.
A few years back I was late (about two months) registering while on an Employment visa for the same reason. There was some noise about it from the Gurgaon FRRO, I paid a fine of around Rs. 4000 (no receipt, of course...) and all was well. Worth avoiding, though.

All in all, PIOs have it pretty good as far as reporting requirements. I haven't lived in India since getting mine, but I'm certainly looking forward to less hassle than with an E visa...
“She was not quite what you would call refined. She was not quite what you would call unrefined. She was the kind of person that keeps a parrot.” – Mark Twain
#6 May 15th, 2010, 15:51
Join Date:
May 2010
Location:
kolkata
Posts:
2
  • haeven_east is offline
#6
Has anyone tried to register with the FRRO in Kolkata??What is it like?/I called the FRRO here and they said that my 'district' has another FRRO,which , interestingly,does not have a phone number!!I thought these FRROS used to be only one per city!!Now that I have made a little fool of myself ,is it possible to get things done here,may be with some fine...with or without receipt??
#7 May 16th, 2010, 16:23
Join Date:
Sep 2008
Location:
Kolkata, India
Posts:
154
Send a message via MSN to stepmyrjov Send a message via Yahoo to stepmyrjov
  • stepmyrjov is offline
#7
Quote:
Originally Posted by haeven_east View Post Has anyone tried to register with the FRRO in Kolkata??What is it like?/I called the FRRO here and they said that my 'district' has another FRRO,which , interestingly,does not have a phone number!!I thought these FRROS used to be only one per city!!Now that I have made a little fool of myself ,is it possible to get things done here,may be with some fine...with or without receipt??
Where do you live? It depends on your district jurisdiction. Where did you go? I live in South 24 Parganas, and registered in Alipore, Bhavani Bhavan area without any problems.
#8 Jun 17th, 2010, 18:05
Join Date:
Jun 2010
Location:
Gurgaon
Posts:
1
  • Sum is offline
#8

Help ..

How did you manage to resolve this ? My son is a minor and a US citizen. We have resident permit from Hyderabad. We transfered address and hence got papers all in order in B'lore. When leaving B'lore to Delhi we got stamp saying register at FRO Delhi within 14 days. When we went to FRRO Delhi - they laughed and said since he is a minor it is not needed - of course, they did not officially cancel stamp or put it in writing. But we let it be. Now we are in Gurgaon - I applied for a visa extension for him. He is still a minor. When we sent visa extension to FRO Gurgaon - he raised hell. Now he has a letter from us admitting to above error, has visa permit letter with him - has said he will have to contact B'lore and get papers. He has not stamped visa on passport. So essentially we do not know how long he will hold on to this ... Since visa is extended for one year we have applied PIO card which has not come .... Do we approach thru an agency ? Anyone know of one in Gurgaon ?
#9 Jun 17th, 2010, 19:09
Join Date:
Sep 2008
Location:
Utah
Posts:
2,011
  • curtdfw is offline
#9
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sum View Post When we went to FRRO Delhi - they laughed and said since he is a minor it is not needed...
Don't know about the other stuff, but as noted here:
Children below 16 years of age do not require Registration, on any type of VISA.
#10 Jul 30th, 2011, 12:33
Join Date:
Jul 2011
Location:
Bangalore
Posts:
10
  • angu is offline
#10
Hi Sum,

I am in the same situation. I hope yours is resolved now. How did you go about.
#11 Aug 4th, 2011, 14:57
Join Date:
Mar 2008
Location:
India
Posts:
586
  • sannna is offline
#11
Can't seem to find the answer to this...

When you have an residence permit issued in one city in one state (Pune), and move to another state and city (Rajasthan, Udaipur), what is the procedure to follow?

Should you inform both FRO's or only the one where you are moving towards or the one where your residence permit was issued?
#12 Aug 4th, 2011, 15:07
Join Date:
Oct 2004
Location:
Chennai, India
Posts:
68,275
  • Nick-H is offline
#12
My guess... you have to be registered with the authority where you live
#13 Aug 4th, 2011, 16:12
Join Date:
Jul 2011
Location:
Bangalore
Posts:
10
  • angu is offline
#13
Sannna,

Please post if you find an answer to this.
#14 Aug 4th, 2011, 17:26
Join Date:
Aug 2006
Location:
Homeless
Posts:
18,733
  • nycank is offline
#14
Quote:
Originally Posted by angu View Post Please post if you find an answer to this.
The person (SUM) made one post, and has not logged in You will have to explain your situation (same as her will not do) if you need feedback.
#15 Aug 4th, 2011, 21:56
Join Date:
Mar 2008
Location:
India
Posts:
586
  • sannna is offline
#15
No worries... will let you know when I find out. Could take a few weeks though.
(I thought I post it in an existing thread rather than opening a new one. :-)

Posting Rules

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
Forum Rules»
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.3.2
© IndiaMike.com 2017
Page Load Success