Gaining Access to US Websites through a US Proxy

#1 Dec 20th, 2009, 18:55
Join Date:
Aug 2009
Location:
Florida
Posts:
1
  • syncretized is offline
#1
Hey all,

I will be travelling to Chennai frequently over the next 6 months on business. While I am there, I plan on using Google Voice and some other software on my computer to make calls to the US. This in addition to accessing Hulu, Pandora, etc. I've read that I need to set my browser to a US bounce through a US Proxy in order to have the website recognize me as a US user and not an Indian user. Since these proxy addresses are dynamic, does anybody know of a solution/application that will automatically update the address for me? I know this is a technical question, but it would definitely be worthwhile for me while I'm in Chennai.

Excited to be in India for a few months! Hope to meet some of you there!

Thanks,
Sagar
#2 Dec 23rd, 2009, 14:16
Join Date:
Aug 2006
Location:
Homeless
Posts:
14,909
  • nycank is offline
#2
Quote:
Originally Posted by syncretized View Post Hey all,

I will be travelling to Chennai frequently over the next 6 months on business. While I am there, I plan on using Google Voice and some other software on my computer to make calls to the US. This in addition to accessing Hulu, Pandora, etc. I've read that I need to set my browser to a US bounce through a US Proxy in order to have the website recognize me as a US user and not an Indian user. Since these proxy addresses are dynamic, does anybody know of a solution/application that will automatically update the address for me? I know this is a technical question, but it would definitely be worthwhile for me while I'm in Chennai.
Pray how do you plan to use google voice ? Unless you are going to send all calls to voicemail or use gizmo/magic jack ? Paying for roaming charges on US based cellphone is going to be prohibitive.

Proxy - Here is a start http://www.publicproxyservers.com/page1.html http://www.xroxy.com/proxy-country-US.htm
#3 Dec 29th, 2009, 03:43
Join Date:
Oct 2009
Location:
USA
Posts:
18
  • Travel*grl is offline
#3
Good question that I have not considered. What if you will not be making calls but trying to access US websites? What steps should be made?
#4 Dec 31st, 2009, 10:48
Join Date:
May 2006
Location:
Gurgaon, India
Posts:
68
Send a message via Yahoo to fatal_error Send a message via Skype™ to fatal_error
  • fatal_error is offline
#4
I always use Your Freedom for my proxy usage. You can select among servers from various countries. There is a restriction on speed and time but you can always purchase a premium package if you really like it!
The Un-natural Act
http://blog.gprakash.com
#5 Dec 31st, 2009, 15:23
Join Date:
Dec 2009
Location:
australia
Posts:
3
  • ryan14 is offline
#5
you don't need a proxy server. india doesn't block USA websites. proxy servers will be slow. to make calls to the USA just use skype.
#6 Jan 1st, 2010, 10:06
Join Date:
Aug 2006
Location:
Homeless
Posts:
14,909
  • nycank is offline
#6
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryan14 View Post you don't need a proxy server. india doesn't block USA websites. proxy servers will be slow. to make calls to the USA just use skype.
Actually some US websites for legal/contractual reason stream content to US-only IP blocks (like BBC ) hence the need for a US proxy.
#7 Jan 1st, 2010, 14:46
Join Date:
Dec 2009
Location:
australia
Posts:
3
  • ryan14 is offline
#7
yeah for some video sites. Instead of using a proxy you should use a USA VPN which gives you a USA ip address. Go to google.com and type in this:

usa vpn


Quote:
Originally Posted by nycank View Post Actually some US websites for legal/contractual reason stream content to US-only IP blocks (like BBC ) hence the need for a US proxy.
#8 May 30th, 2010, 05:38
Join Date:
May 2010
Location:
US
Posts:
24
  • RedheadToIndia is offline
#8
Just wondering if anyone here was successfully using a US or UK internet proxy from India? I've tried them once or twice to get UK only media in the US, and never had much luck, but I know there are some paid services out there.
#9 Jun 1st, 2010, 17:57
Join Date:
Jan 2010
Location:
Film City
Posts:
41
  • Irri is offline
#9
I use a VPN rather than a proxy. It doesn't cost that much and basically puts your computer in a different country.

Similar Threads

Title, Username, & Date Last Post Replies Views Forum
can only browse IM via anon proxy? Dec 23rd, 2007 02:35 33 7047 Forum Help
Cool websites about India May 14th, 2007 09:27 23 1716 Chai and Chat
293 websites about India Oct 17th, 2005 17:58 3 1141 Chai and Chat
New Rules and Websites Dec 8th, 2004 12:35 2 2094 Indian Railways


Posting Rules

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
Forum Rules»
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.3.2
© IndiaMike.com 2014
Page Load Success