BSNL 3G (SIM only) sign-up process?

#1 May 31st, 2011, 01:55
Join Date:
May 2011
Location:
San Francisco
Posts:
7
  • bongster is offline
#1
Hi all,

I will be visiting Kolkata soon for about 6 weeks.

I would like to sign-up for a BSNL prepaid 3G SIM Card (I already have a 3G-capable phone that will work in India -- Google/Samsing Nexus S)

Can someone help me in figure out:

1. How do I actually sign-up for such a plan and get the SIM card?
What documents do I need? What is the process? and How long does it take to register and and activate the card?

2. Do I need to separately sign-up for a 2/2.5G plan as well, or does the 3G prepaid plan include it?

I have visited BSNL's website and could not understand this...


Thank you in advance for any help!
#2 May 31st, 2011, 02:29
Join Date:
May 2011
Location:
San Francisco
Posts:
7
  • bongster is offline
#2
Also, I have actually narrowed my choice to either BSNL and Vodafone, so if somebody can enlighten me with the sign-up process for Vodafone 3G, that would be much appreciated as well!
#3 May 31st, 2011, 02:38
Join Date:
Mar 2011
Location:
Kolkata
Posts:
3,710
  • dipyamanbasu is offline
#3
Quote:
Originally Posted by bongster View Post Also, I have actually narrowed my choice to either BSNL and Vodafone, so if somebody can enlighten me with the sign-up process for Vodafone 3G, that would be much appreciated as well!
Follow these simple steps.
Go to a retailer
Take a simple Vodafone Sim (I guess initial kit charges in Rs. 26)
If you want to make calls or keep the sim for future uses
make recharges of Rs. 44 (50p in home state, 70p in roaming, std in home as per offer, 1.5 in roaming)
There are many sms plans available.
Recharge by 98(2 GB) or 499( 10 GB)
Depends on how you want to use the connection.
If you want to go for some heavy downloads take 499.
After 10 mins of recharging 98 or 499
SMS
ACT 3G
to 144
Within 1-4 hours, you would be able to use 3G Speed at 2G Tariff.
I am currently doing the same (Even though I have 3G Sim of BSNL and Docomo)

BSNL Works fine when you surf in the mobile phone and not on lappy.
Docomo is good but not fast enough.
Voda, is the fastest. Check some other threads where I have written that I have been getting download speed of around 310 kbps (max 370-380).
Avg internet speed of 2.5 mbps.
#4 May 31st, 2011, 02:40
Join Date:
Mar 2011
Location:
Kolkata
Posts:
3,710
  • dipyamanbasu is offline
#4
To add:
You would need a software to connect to the internet.
Check if your phone has any inbuilt one or some software is available in the market.
Ex:- For nokia, nokia ovi/priority suite.

Enter www as the access point.


If you choose to take bsnl, the access point would be bsnlnet
And for docomo it is tata.docomo.internet
#5 May 31st, 2011, 05:51
Join Date:
May 2011
Location:
San Francisco
Posts:
7
  • bongster is offline
#5
@dipyamanbasu,

Many thanks for your reply.

Just to clarify, my phone (Google Nexus S) is "3G-capable", so I don't intend to use any laptop with it. I simply want to use the phone, over 3G (Vodafone or BSNL whichever is more reliable)

So, for Vodafone -- I will get a "simple SIM", and then, as per your suggestion, will go for the Rs 499/- (10GB) plan?

And then, after using the phone (so far at 2G speed), I need to activate 3G by sending SMS to 144 with "ACT 3G"

That should be it, correct? I shouldn't have to do anything else to activate 3G on the SIM card?

And, also, to clarify, it is 10GB for Rs 499/- only?

Thanks!
#6 May 31st, 2011, 14:51
Join Date:
Mar 2011
Location:
Kolkata
Posts:
3,710
  • dipyamanbasu is offline
#6
Quote:
Originally Posted by bongster View Post @dipyamanbasu,

Many thanks for your reply.

Just to clarify, my phone (Google Nexus S) is "3G-capable", so I don't intend to use any laptop with it. I simply want to use the phone, over 3G (Vodafone or BSNL whichever is more reliable)

So, for Vodafone -- I will get a "simple SIM", and then, as per your suggestion, will go for the Rs 499/- (10GB) plan?

And then, after using the phone (so far at 2G speed), I need to activate 3G by sending SMS to 144 with "ACT 3G"

That should be it, correct? I shouldn't have to do anything else to activate 3G on the SIM card?

And, also, to clarify, it is 10GB for Rs 499/- only?

Thanks!
Voda and BSNL are same when used in a Mobile.
If it is a Laptop, which I would prefer, then go for Vodafone.
If you want to make downloads, go for the 10GB Plan (Rs. 499). Else go for 2 GB Plan (Rs. 98)

PS:- Get a Voda SIm. (Ask the retailer for the starter package; perhaps it is Rs, 26)
Get some balance in your phone (Near about Rs. 100)
Get the 98 or 499 rs. recharge
then sms ACT 3G to 144
Get a 44 RS. Recharge (It makes call rate to 50p in the circle where you have purchased your sim, and 70p in other circles [roaming])


The sms might take some time to be processed. You have to keep sending multiple sms's till the time a satisfactory reply comes from the other end saying that your request has been received.
#7 Jun 5th, 2011, 03:34
Join Date:
Mar 2011
Location:
Kolkata
Posts:
3,710
  • dipyamanbasu is offline
#7
Using 3G Speed (the best speed I have seen when compared to BSNL 3G and Docomo 3G) with 2G Tariff.

http://www.speedtest.net/result/1326801592.png
#8 Jun 8th, 2011, 21:31
Join Date:
May 2011
Location:
San Francisco
Posts:
7
  • bongster is offline
#8
OK, I am now in Kolkata and managed to get Vodafone 3G. Overall the process was OK and painless (by India standards

Day 1:
- Visit Vodafone office at crossing of Sarat Bose Road and Southern Ave
- Provide them with copies Passport and proof of local address (e.g. CESC bill).
The latter is needed if you have a foreign passport like me.
- Pay Rs 25/- for new SIM
- They ask me to recharge the card with Rs 150/- or more, and then come back next day to get data activated
- I recharge SIM with Rs 150/-
- my SIM now has voice, but no data

Day 2:
- visit vodafone office again to get data activated
- They tell me to recharge my SIM with one of following prepaid data plans (all for 30 days)
Rs 103/- for 100MB
Rs 375/- for 500MB (this is the one I chose)
Rs 850/- for 3GB
Rs 1250/- for 5GB

- After recharge, I waited a few hours, but still had no data
- I called customer service, as per their advice set up my mobile APN settings correctly:
APN Name: Vodafone Live
APN: portalnmms
Proxy: 10.10.1.100
Proxy Port: 9401
Authentication Type: None

- After setting these, and power cycling my phone, data is working like a charm.
I am seeing anywhere from 300kbps to 900kbps download speeds!

- This message comes to you from a PC connected to my Phone over WIFI tethering over Vodafone 3G
#9 Jun 8th, 2011, 21:59
Join Date:
Mar 2011
Location:
Kolkata
Posts:
3,710
  • dipyamanbasu is offline
#9
You simply did a mistake Sir.

Right now you are using 3G Tariff plans to obtain 3G Speed.
Instead you could have followed my advice to get it in a much cheaper way.
I am getting 3G Speeds for the download speed you have mentioned against 2G Tariff.
499 for 10 GB, 1400 for 30 GB.

The moment you are done with the data limit, kindly get a 2G Sim for yourself (If you wish to save some money)
#10 Jun 9th, 2011, 19:19
Join Date:
Jan 2007
Location:
someway over the rainbow
Posts:
384
  • ycl1688 is offline
#10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bongster View Post OK, I am now in Kolkata and managed to get Vodafone 3G. Overall the process was OK and painless (by India standards

Day 1:
- Visit Vodafone office at crossing of Sarat Bose Road and Southern Ave
- Provide them with copies Passport and proof of local address (e.g. CESC bill).
The latter is needed if you have a foreign passport like me.
- Pay Rs 25/- for new SIM
- They ask me to recharge the card with Rs 150/- or more, and then come back next day to get data activated
- I recharge SIM with Rs 150/-
- my SIM now has voice, but no data

Day 2:
- visit vodafone office again to get data activated
- They tell me to recharge my SIM with one of following prepaid data plans (all for 30 days)
Rs 103/- for 100MB
Rs 375/- for 500MB (this is the one I chose)
Rs 850/- for 3GB
Rs 1250/- for 5GB

- After recharge, I waited a few hours, but still had no data
- I called customer service, as per their advice set up my mobile APN settings correctly:
APN Name: Vodafone Live
APN: portalnmms
Proxy: 10.10.1.100
Proxy Port: 9401
Authentication Type: None

- After setting these, and power cycling my phone, data is working like a charm.
I am seeing anywhere from 300kbps to 900kbps download speeds!

- This message comes to you from a PC connected to my Phone over WIFI tethering over Vodafone 3G
Congrats for your successful link to internet with samsung nexus s, I have few questions
1. with proof of address (CESC bill) does it have your name on it or your relative ?
2. the sim you bought will expire without recharging over a period of time ?
3. is the data plan exhausted within the 30 days can you add more to the plan ?
4. in states which provider you have ? do you have to get the phone unlock in india ? will it affect anything when you come back to states ?

thanks.
#11 Jun 9th, 2011, 19:24
Join Date:
Mar 2011
Location:
Kolkata
Posts:
3,710
  • dipyamanbasu is offline
#11
Quote:
Originally Posted by ycl1688 View Post Congrats for your successful link to internet with samsung nexus s, I have few questions
1. with proof of address (CESC bill) does it have your name on it or your relative ?
2. the sim you bought will expire without recharging over a period of time ?
3. is the data plan exhausted within the 30 days can you add more to the plan ?
4. in states which provider you have ? do you have to get the phone unlock in india ? will it affect anything when you come back to states ?

thanks.
1. The Sim card is issued in the name of the person providing the address proof.
2. The plan of 25 Rs. for the new sim (Vodafone) gives lifetime validity (Till the expiry of the licence obtained by Vodafone)
3. 3G Speed consumed large amount of data. If you are more after downloading, it will expire even sooner.
However if you intend to just surf the websites, a 3GB plan is expected to last for 200 hours. Assuming that you would surf an average of 7-8 hours a day, the 3GB Data limit should last a month or so.
4. I cannot think of any service provider not having their service in Kolkata and/or West Bengal.
#12 Jun 9th, 2011, 20:31
Join Date:
Jan 2007
Location:
someway over the rainbow
Posts:
384
  • ycl1688 is offline
#12
I believe certain questions can only be answered by Bongster.
Since he is a visitor with a foreign passport, I assume his proof of residence must be
his relative or friend.
Question 4 is relating to USA not indian states. Hope this is clear.
#13 Jun 9th, 2011, 20:38
Join Date:
Mar 2011
Location:
Kolkata
Posts:
3,710
  • dipyamanbasu is offline
#13
I presume he is a NRI (His name or atleast the name of the streets correctly spelt suggest so)
#14 Jun 9th, 2011, 21:38
Join Date:
May 2011
Location:
San Francisco
Posts:
7
  • bongster is offline
#14
Re: Proof of address

I just provided CESC bill from a relative of mine.
There really was no "proof" that the CESC bill was from a relative of mine! But thats what they asked for and thats what they got.

The SIM card was bought in my name not my relative's.

If you don't know anybody in Kolkata, you can (I am guessing) probably provide your registration/reservation details from a hotel on a official looking hotel letterhead.

Also, I provided the landline number of said relative. Vodafone said they will call the number to verify they know me, but they haven't called so far...
#15 Jun 9th, 2011, 21:41
Join Date:
May 2011
Location:
San Francisco
Posts:
7
  • bongster is offline
#15
Re: Usage

You can recharge anytime you like, they just get added on to your current limit and they expire in 30 days.

Re: Unlocking phone in India

My phone was already unlocked, so can't help you with your question...

Similar Threads

Title, Username, & Date Last Post Replies Views Forum
BSNL Pre-Paid Sim Card - Bangalore Jan 2nd, 2011 22:35 2 6258 Electronics in India
3g Bsnl Sim Apr 25th, 2010 06:45 10 5359 Electronics in India
iPhone tethering for BSNL 3G sim card Dec 1st, 2009 10:25 9 8359 Electronics in India
BSNL prepaid sim cards Sep 25th, 2006 19:16 1 4365 Electronics in India


Posting Rules

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
Forum Rules»
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.3.2
© IndiaMike.com 2014
Page Load Success